annanotbob2's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Creepy

Yesterday I had my 4th Covid vaccine, which they're calling a booster, and a flu jab too, one in each arm. I don't know why I had the flu jab - I'm still mainly outside or wearing a mask when I'm inside so I'm unlikely to get flu - though even as I'm writing that I know that yesterday evening I went to the choir where I met my friend SB. We hadn't seen each other for a while as she's been away. We had a big hug at the beginning, then another in the interval, just because, then another one when we said goodbye. This was all indoors, no masks. This morning she tested positive for Covid. There's me, thinking that I'm still being careful and I'm not. It's no good being mostly careful, is it? It's around three months since I had Covid and the most recent thing I could find about how long you have immunity did say five months but that was from Jan 2021, which is too bloody long ago. This is a whole different variation now.  Anyway, I hope to fuck I don't get it again because the booster knocked me right back.


I didn't walk yesterday, had the jabs at the parish hall, all volunteers with clipboards and an overweening sense of their own importance, and nurses, came home and did Tuesday art on zoom then fell into bed. I really didn't want to go to the singing, but I also didn't want to miss the second session, feeling it would be too hard to get back to session three. I do enjoy the singing but to be honest, I find the gospel songs quite creepy. I suppose I've spent very little time associating with anyone who has a strong religious faith - I do have a couple of friends who are devout Christians but we don't talk about it very often and I still have strong, close friendships with them both that have lasted for years, but I'm not right up there in the face of what it means to have these beliefs. And when I encounter them in the form of these songs I find them, frankly, bizarre, and then when I go to the recommended youtube versions I don't like them at all. I don't like the scary eyed, zealous performers and I can hear the meaning of the lyrics when I'm only listening, not concentrating on the tune, and I don't like it. Last week, amongst the group, hearing these songs for the first time, seeing J, the choir leader (who's also a church something or other) all enthused, carried away myself by the rhythm and the community, I almost wished I did have faith. This week I'm glad I don't. There's a Thursday morning choir as well doing secular songs and I'll see if I can get to that when I've finished the Thursday morning writing course I kind of accidentally signed up for which runs for the next six or seven weeks. And which starts tomorrow at 9 o'clock so I'd better get off. 


There are only two more days of the walking fundraiser - I'm up to £320 and would love a bit more if any of you can manage a quid or two. Or even one - it can be anonymous if you only want to give a small amount, everything is welcome and appreciated. Donations accepted from all around the world. Here's the link. 


https://trusselltrust.enthuse.com/pf/anna-mills


Keep safe, y'all. Covid is still out there, Hugs xx

12:14 a.m. - 29.09.22

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

Weds - 06.10.22
Swim - 03.10.22
Green and silly - 03.10.22
Out out - 02.10.22
You've done too much, much too young - 30.09.22

other diaries:

blueisnotred
strawberrri
orangepeeler
jarofporter
stellarrobot
marywa
blujeans-uk
dangerspouse
ladyofjazz
SWORDFERN
narcissa
newschick
simeons-twin
stepfordtart
annanotbob
life-my-way
joistmonkey
ottodixless
manfromvenus
melodymetuka
outer-jessie
portlypete
jim515
floodtide
boombasticat
aliannmil

Site Meter