annanotbob2's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Plans

I seem to have volunteered myself to join a choir tomorrow night, led by the woman who taught me keyboard during lockdown. Yikes. Also to restart my writing group back in the good recovery centre. I got chucked out for living in the wrong county but I can go there to provide services rather than use them. They paid me as well, which will be cool. And I remembered I have tickets to go with Sis to see James Taylor. He was her teenage crush and the gig was going to be on her birthday last February so I thought it was a sign that I should take her. Not the same in mid October, but there you go. I have a ticket for a silent disco, an art workshop combining Gelli plate printing with photo-transfer, as well as a different writing group starting next week. 


In the end I watched the funeral on repeat this evening, it being some kind of historical event and all. I hate all that pageantry shite though, all that passing of the orb and sceptre - fuck off, really. I can see why some people like it, but it's all that military that I can't bear. I heard some military bloke on the radio saying something about the military being good at funerals because they 'lose a lot of personnel' and 'are involved in other end of life events' (or something similarly mealy-mouthed), by which he means they kill people, that's what they do. Cunts. I did like the scruffy looking bunch of flowers on the coffin and the walking behind it - I would have liked to do that for Sam. This funeral went on forever whereas Sam's was all a big rush. The facebook memory came back the other day from the night before, when I put a call out for someone to help me with the maths - I had to cut ten minutes from the things people wanted to say and couldn't work it out, two in the morning before, awful, on my own in the night, but dear Jessie in the US came to my rescue as she has many times. (I got the days mixed up, Sam's funeral was 17th not 19th, but all too close.) I wonder how I would have responded if the queen had died in November or May or some month far away from my daughter's anniversary. I mean, I'm a republican but I might not have been so mean-spirited about it all. I haven't liked that, but I'm not going to pretend it wasn't like that. 

12:46 a.m. - 20.09.22

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

Five - 26.09.22
Swim - 25.09.22
Flowers - 24.09.22
Walking On Sunshine - 23.09.22
Sing - 21.09.22

other diaries:

blueisnotred
strawberrri
orangepeeler
jarofporter
stellarrobot
marywa
blujeans-uk
dangerspouse
ladyofjazz
SWORDFERN
narcissa
newschick
simeons-twin
stepfordtart
annanotbob
life-my-way
joistmonkey
ottodixless
manfromvenus
melodymetuka
outer-jessie
portlypete
jim515
floodtide
boombasticat
aliannmil

Site Meter