annanotbob2's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Five Good Things

Today would have been dear Sarah Stepfordtart's birthday - I can't quite bring myself to say her heavenly birthday, a phrase which is gaining in popularity but pisses me off. I find myself imagining her and Poolie and Witty, Mel, my Sammie - I can't remember if they met, but Stepfie knew Grandson so I'm sure she'd be looking out for her - I imagine them all having a party, but whatever's going on after death I'm pretty bloody certain it's not that. I used to drive all along the south coast quite often, on my way to visit my pal M in Dorset, often with GS as he always spent a lot of the school holidays with us. The route took us past Stepfie's place so we'd call in sometimes. I remember one time, GS didn't want to stop but we did and he was all shy about meeting her daughters, who were a bit older than him. Yeah, yeah, stop moaning, go upstairs and play. He soon chilled out and by the time we left he was crying because he didn't want to say goodbye. She was a diamond and I was privileged to know her and call her my friend. 


Anyway, lots of sadness and exhaustion today but also Good Things. Can I find five? We'll see.



  1. I went to Tuesday zoom art group and did a painting/collage that I ended up liking.

  2. painting2

  3. That wasn't meant to be 2) but I can't format it tonight, and I hadn't finished saying I think it's a bit full on - it was meant to be a copy of a painting that I think was itself a copy of a Picasso. Mine went wrong when the pen I used to draw the black lines turned out not to be waterproof and leaked everywhere so I started adding tissue paper and fabric and I quite like it. I like the grumpy mouth. But number two of my Good Things today is that I reached my sponsorship target of £250 for the Trussell Trust and we're not halfway through the month yet. Many thanks to all of you kind people who have donated, several of you from oversees. 

  4. I walked with the dog to the end of the pier and back and it felt quite pleasingly autumnal. I hope to still swim - I did on Sunday and it was lush, but the water's been unsafe since. Honestly, those fuckers at Southern Water, making huge profits and paying out dividends before making the infrastructure fit for purpose. We have endless leaks as well, big leaks, which take days to sort out and involves huge tankers blocking up the coast road for day after day. 

  5. Having watched it on TV I had a go at making a Jamie Oliver quick flatbread sandwich and it was bloody delicious. Ten minutes from start to finish. OK, here's the link: https://www.jamieoliver.com/recipes/bread-recipes/speedy-folded-flatbread/

  6. I signed up for another zoom writing group, back with one I did during lockdown. She's the US woman living in Berlin and comes at it quite differently, more demanding but interesting. It's only five weeks, five Thursday mornings. 

11:40 p.m. - 13.09.22

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

Plans - 20.09.22
On and On - 19.09.22
Litter - 18.09.22
No Kittens - 17.09.22
Not just Er - 16.09.22

other diaries:

blueisnotred
strawberrri
orangepeeler
jarofporter
stellarrobot
marywa
blujeans-uk
dangerspouse
ladyofjazz
SWORDFERN
narcissa
newschick
simeons-twin
stepfordtart
annanotbob
life-my-way
joistmonkey
ottodixless
manfromvenus
melodymetuka
outer-jessie
portlypete
jim515
floodtide
boombasticat
aliannmil

Site Meter