annanotbob2's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

A'ight?

Still here, still eating for three. Or more, possibly. Comfort eating. It does give comfort. Not for long, but for a bit. We had a poussin for dinner tonight as it's much cheaper than a whole organic chicken. Lots of bones. very fiddly but tasted good. Plus a small mountain of roast vegetables.
We're watching The Wire again, after there was a load of stuff about it on Twitter and it made me nostalgic for some decent telly. We went in at season 3 as Bloke has only seen the first two. I've watched it all, three times. I watched it once, then straight through again as soon as I'd finished, then again with Daughter, which was my fave as she's into analysing and critiquing, and she picked up things that I hadn't noticed. My mate J the muso immediately spotted that there's no background music, just what's on the radio or whatever, no one telling you what to think or feel about any of it. Why do I think it's the best TV series ever? Because of its scope; its refusal to think there are any easy answers; its honest portrayal of people right across the social spectrum - treating Bubs, the rough-sleeping addict with as much respect as anyone else but without romanticising poverty. I think each season is like a Dickens novel, a massive cast of characters that take a while to get straight, all of whose actions eventually have repercussions everywhere, the threads all slowly coming together over the course of the season, none of this wrapping it up at the end of each episode. I don't know how those Brits in central parts play in the US. I was amazed to discover that McNulty and Stringer were English, though I recognised Carcetti at once as having played Stuart in Queer as Folk. But I wouldn't know a crap US accent if it bit me - they might all be as bad as Dick Van Dyke in Mary Poppins for all I know. 
I felt so wiped out yesterday that I wondered if the new meds had lowered my BP down to practically zero so I tested it again. 138/93 which is orders of magnitude better than the worst one 218/175. And normal, I reckon. I only tested myself in the first place because I was invited to participate in a study to see if there was a link between Covid and raised BP - if my result is typical it suggests there might be. I had high BP before, though nowhere near this high, but the meds had brought it down. Ah well.

12:49 a.m. - 29.08.22

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

Five y'all - 06.09.22
Just - 05.09.22
3/5 - 03.09.22
On this day - 01.09.22
Close - 30.08.22

other diaries:

blueisnotred
strawberrri
orangepeeler
jarofporter
stellarrobot
marywa
blujeans-uk
dangerspouse
ladyofjazz
SWORDFERN
narcissa
newschick
simeons-twin
stepfordtart
annanotbob
life-my-way
joistmonkey
ottodixless
manfromvenus
melodymetuka
outer-jessie
portlypete
jim515
floodtide
boombasticat
aliannmil

Site Meter