annanotbob2's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Nursey nurse

Bloke's ill and I've been looking after him. Not much, to be fair, but more than I would have imagined doing. A significant part of it is making him phone the doctor, and making him persevere when they don't answer at once. It was clear to me that he had an infection, that it was getting worse, that he needed antibiotics and that it's not a colossal failure of him as a man to be ill. I didn't push that one - I've been fighting and failing on that front since about 1997. He thinks he's self-healing, or if he's not he should be - he'd rather have a blinding headache for a fortnight than take a paracetamol. Ha, look how quick I slide into ranting. Anyway, I stood over him like I was his bleeding mother until he'd got a prescription to collect, made him go back to bed, fetched his pills, made him take one, knocked up some chicken broth from yesterday's dinner, made sure he ate it and was mostly fairly pleasant about it. Mostly. 


This afternoon on the beach was just fucking lovely. It was the nearest one, quite late, a bit along from where I usually go and there was no one there.


beach1


beach2


It's been really hot, so hot you feel your skin, well, my skin, shouldn't be exposed to the sun for too long but because I was a bit later it was just balmy and warm. There was a soft, southerly breeze taking the traffic noise away so all I could hear was the waves lapping and the occasional gulls and crows squawking like they do. I sat for a while reading my book, then got in the water and floated about for ages. When I came out and sat again, it was one of those moments when you feel good, at one with the world and notice it at the time. 

12:32 a.m. - 09.08.22

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

Rose - 18.08.22
Six - 16.08.22
With added Freddie - 14.08.22
Hot on a hill - 13.08.22
Raspberry - 09.08.22

other diaries:

blueisnotred
strawberrri
orangepeeler
jarofporter
stellarrobot
marywa
blujeans-uk
dangerspouse
ladyofjazz
SWORDFERN
narcissa
newschick
simeons-twin
stepfordtart
annanotbob
life-my-way
joistmonkey
ottodixless
manfromvenus
melodymetuka
outer-jessie
portlypete
jim515
floodtide
boombasticat
aliannmil

Site Meter