annanotbob2's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Trifle etc

Funny old day. Can't believe it's still the fucking jubilee weekend and another day to go. I played my part in it by making a cheat/pauper version of the trifle that won the competition to come up with a recipe to commemorate the platinum Jubilee. I only found out then that a Victoria sponge cake was made for her (Queen Vic) and Coronation chicken for the current queen. Well, I knew about the chicken but not the cake. Surely that's just a basic sponge recipe? Anyway, they had a competition and a trifle won and I thought it looked ridiculously complicated but Jack Monroe on Twitter talked about doing a cheaper, easier version so I thought I'd have a go. I knew it was ridiculous BECAUSE NO ONE WILL EAT IT and it's huge. Bloke doesn't eat sugar (of course he does, he thinks I don't look at the shopping receipts, or notice the sweet wrappers in his car), nor does Sis (she really doesn't, skinny as fuck, think she's still on the toot, myself, but she denies it) and everyone else is either away on holiday or lives far away. I gave a massive bowlful to her next door and I've eaten three bowls myself and may have another one before bed, but there's still half left which is not good. I just got a bee in my bonnet about making it and couldn't rest till I had.trifle2


That's the side view, with all the layers and from above:


trifle1


Look at all those white chocolate shards, with candied peel embedded. I made that. And a mandarin orange coulis, I'll have you know. Not being mental I bought rather than made a swiss roll, amaretti biscuits, custard and made the jelly from a packet rather than faffing about with squeezing fruits and melting gelatine, as suggested in the original recipe.


https://www.bbc.co.uk/food/recipes/lemon_swiss_roll_and_42467 


It is unutterably delicious and I can't bear Stepfordtart not being here to see it and I hope that Danger spots it, as he's my official Stepfie-stand in when it comes to kitchen flash-fuckery. I might have to send him a note. In fact I just did - now I'll have to finish this. Obviously the trifle is fucking delicious. I've had three bowls and don't even feel sick. I'm gonna have another one before I go to bed. And you can't stop me. 


Son came down to drop off his tent for Glasto - I'll get there three days before him so have to put it up for him while there's space. He got the letter I sent but didn't appreciate it. He said it's like me trying to jump straight to step 9 when I haven't done the other steps. But also bad things have happened in his life this week, proper bad things so he wasn't in a good place anyway. Ah well. 


Yesterday we all went to Grandson's to celebrate his birthday. I gave him a half barrel and a water lily to live in it, which he was very happy about and we all went into the town centre for burgers at Five Guys which is OK, but for fuck's sake, how expensive? It was a lovely evening - he's such a sweetheart and so happy to have us round, to be a host, and he chats away, open and interesting and interested. Then I cry all the way home that his mama will never see what a fine young man he is. She'd be so proud. 


And Johnson was booed as he arrived at the thing yesterday - all those patriotic ,flag-waving people that you'd think are the natural supporters of a Conservative Prime Minister, booing him, live and loud and hopefully broadcast all around the world. Highlight of the weekend so far.

1:07 a.m. - 05.06.22

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

Kew - 10.06.22
Later - 09.06.22
Here, now - 08.06.22
Meh - 07.06.22
Pondering - 06.06.22

other diaries:

manfromvenus
melodymetuka
warmntoasty-
orangepeeler
blueisnotred
bantenhut
portlypete
jarofporter
strawberrri
stellarrobot
dangerspouse
blujeans-uk
marywa
ladyofjazz
SWORDFERN
joistmonkey
simeons-twin
narcissa
life-my-way
newschick
annanotbob
ottodixless
outer-jessie
stepfordtart
jim515
floodtide
boombasticat
aliannmil

Site Meter