annanotbob2's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Art and that

There's been a goodly amount of art around it seems. Yesterday at my museum art group I painted my friend SB from a photo taken last week at a gallery. I'm going to share it although I'm going to have to do it again - I'm not going to direct your eyes to the faults though (I'm assuming, hopefully, that there's someone reading this and looking at my painting, haha). 


Sarahb


It was at the gallery of one of our favourite painters, as an artist and as a person, so one reason I'm going to do it again is to get her little paintings represented better. I need my gouache paints for that and my tiny brush. SB had her arms forward as she was taking a photo herself at the time - I'm not sure whether I need to take another photo o copy, of her with her arms visible in some way or if it's OK like this. 


Today we went on another open house trail where one of the artists was hidden inside her studio/shed. There were loads of great canvases of her art propped up around the garden and a big sign saying she was being a living photocopier for the day and that if we took a selfie and texted it to her she'd do a copy of it in around a minute. This is mine:


myportrait


I love it! Free as well, my favourite price. I felt really inspired by her art and rushed off to buy myself the biggest canvas I could find, to do a painting of my garden, in these 'gestural' shapes. By the time I got it home I'd lost my confidence about splashing paint onto a big surface, but I have an old canvas that has a really shit painting on it so I'll go over that with emulsion paint - I have some pale yellow - and take it from there. I'm not sure if gouache will take on emulsion, but acrylic probably will. 


I haven't heard from Son since posting the letter, which is shit as I posted it on Thursday, first class, in plenty of time for that day's post. I think he can't have got it yet as I sent a card to someone else who would always respond and no news from her either so it can't have arrived. Wind up. 


We've decided to go to Glasto on the Sunday this year - since they started opening the gates to the public on the Wednesday, we've opened the kids' field on the Thursday so there's not much time to get it set up otherwise. Daughter does decor so works beforehand and I do workshops once it's opened. So I'm thinking I might try and do my usual zoom stuff if there's enough internet. I could do a writing workshop on the Monday and Tuesday art group. That might get me doing a proper painting of some festival scene - the castle in the kids field is massive and amazing and on Tuesday will be covered in a swarm of people painting it, about twenty usually, ages ranging from late sixties down to about 4 or 5. Piece of piss to paint that. Well, not, but I could do something. 

12:21 a.m. - 29.05.22

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

Three - 03.06.22
June - 02.06.22
Tuesday, art, tired - 01.06.22
Alphabet - 31.05.22
Jubilee - 30.05.22

other diaries:

manfromvenus
melodymetuka
warmntoasty-
orangepeeler
blueisnotred
bantenhut
portlypete
jarofporter
strawberrri
stellarrobot
dangerspouse
blujeans-uk
marywa
ladyofjazz
SWORDFERN
joistmonkey
simeons-twin
narcissa
life-my-way
newschick
annanotbob
ottodixless
outer-jessie
stepfordtart
jim515
floodtide
boombasticat
aliannmil

Site Meter