annanotbob2's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Chair

Today I went to my beloved Buddhist centre, first time since before the pandemic. When it all started they were halfway through redecorating it, now finished and utterly beautiful. I was there to do a three hour chair-yoga session, which took place in the shrine room, on the top floor, with a massive, gorgeous sky light, letting in all the light. We lay on our mats under the bluest of blue skies. This chair yoga was not the kind where you just sit on a chair, for people with reduced mobility. This was all about being able to do even more than usual, using the chair for support in all kinds of different ways. They're all too complicated to describe, even if I could remember, apart from this one: standing with the chair at your side, leg distance away, lifting up the knee of the leg nearest the chair, swiveling it out to the side, straightening the leg and placing your heel on the top of the chair back. I was very pleased to discover that two years of nothing but yin yoga has left me still very bendy and able to do all this stuff. Though I did get tired after two hours and opted out for a quick snooze on my mat before getting back into it for the final 50 minutes. But I was the oldest there by about twenty years and also, I was cool with just saying, "I'm done for a bit so I'm having a lie down now." The teacher came over and put a folded blanket under my head and moved a chair so I could put my legs up and rest them on the chair. 


It was just bliss, but exhausting. I may opt out of the Sunday yin class.

12:56 a.m. - 22.05.22

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

It's only words - 28.05.22
Writing things - 27.05.22
No - 26.05.22
Busy - 24.05.22
Just this - 23.05.22

other diaries:

bantenhut
jim515
manfromvenus
portlypete
jarofporter
blueisnotred
strawberrri
stellarrobot
marywa
blujeans-uk
ladyofjazz
dangerspouse
SWORDFERN
narcissa
newschick
joistmonkey
outer-jessie
life-my-way
simeons-twin
stepfordtart
annanotbob
ottodixless
melodymetuka
orangepeeler
floodtide
boombasticat
aliannmil

Site Meter