annanotbob2's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Nightingales and that

There's a thing going round on Twitter where people are looking up the houses their grandparents used to live in, so I looked up my two sets. My maternal grandparents house is in a road where the most recent house sold went for £145,000. My paternal grandparents actual house recently sold for £1,320,000. That's almost a tenfold difference. Our house is about the same as the first one, ex 3 bed council houses, both, but worth twice as much for being in the south east, but it's all such bollocks, isn't it? I was surprised though. 


My blogpal Jarofporter has asked how I'm liking the Wim Hoff series currently airing on British telly and available to him in the US somehow. Well, I love it. It's fascinating to see the effect of the practices on the participants, like the breathing exercises which had several of them in tears, men and women. A few were clearly revisiting traumatic events, just from lying on the floor breathing in a certain way, and despite the cameras. I'm not tempted to try any of it, though I will do the cold showers again, once I've got myself a bit more back on track. And there's Lee Mack and Holly Willoughby, so what's not to love?


Today was woodland singing again which I really fucking adore. One of the women turned out to be a birder and on the way up the lane to the downs, she very dramatically called a halt and for silence and we stood, spellbound listening to a nightingale sing its heart out. It's tricky for me, the singing. The songs are all new to me, just little traditional songs that the leader sings to us a line at a time and we learn them. But I can't hold a tune unless I sing quite loud (Stepfordtart told me that - sing louder, only great singers can sing well quietly) and I can't get it at once so I start quietly but out of tune, probably, but get there in the end, by not trying too hard and letting it be. But I love it so I keep going. 

12:47 a.m. - 02.05.22

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

Four - 10.05.22
Another five - 10.05.22
- - 08.05.22
Busy busy busy - 06.05.22
Terminating terminally - 04.05.22

other diaries:

bantenhut
jim515
manfromvenus
portlypete
jarofporter
blueisnotred
strawberrri
stellarrobot
marywa
blujeans-uk
ladyofjazz
dangerspouse
SWORDFERN
narcissa
newschick
joistmonkey
outer-jessie
life-my-way
simeons-twin
stepfordtart
annanotbob
ottodixless
melodymetuka
orangepeeler
floodtide
boombasticat
aliannmil

Site Meter