annanotbob2's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Getting an MOT

My friend SB is cat-sitting in a beautiful eco-house, one of a cluster built in the 70s as a co-op and still going strong. I visited her there today, in the heart of the city, but hidden in a fold of the hills, climbing out into the sunshine, surrounded by trees and silence and birdsong. Amazingly lovely. Her brother has lived there for thirty years and knew she could do with a break so put her forward to stay there for a week. The house is full of wooden furniture and fittings, old enough now to have the gorgeousness of age (hmm, must remember that may also apply to people, like 67 year old women). We sat and chatted and watched all kinds of finches, tits and pigeons feeding in the garden. A fox came right up to the window. Fab.


She helped me get started on my cardie - I don't know why I was finding it hard but I was and now I'm away. I may drone on about this - it will take a long time and you know what I'm like. She's due, my friend SB, to have a second hip replacement. In May, it looks like. She'll have to miss Glasto but we're both looking forward to stepping out energetically into the future, having both had an MOT and now about to get the work done. An MOT is an annual check old cars have to pass to be driven legally. 


There was something in my dreams last night that made me think of the school I went to in the West Country before we moved to Sussex. So I looked for it on Facebook and of course there was a page. In those days kids who lived further than twenty miles away boarded from Monday to Friday and within the hour of signing up I was exchanging messages with a woman who'd been a girl in my dormitory (dorm) back in the 1960s. Miserable times for both of us then, but she looks great now. I love seeing a photo of a woman approaching seventy and being able to discern the bones of the 14 year old child I used to know. Now I want to see more, but Facebook is not widely taken up by people my age so I may be unlucky. 


Today I am grateful for a long chat with Son, who I miss very much all of a sudden. It feels like a lifetime since I saw him. Next weekend, probably. Possibly. Maybe.

12:22 a.m. - 13.03.22

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

Thursday - 18.03.22
A bit bah, a bit om - 16.03.22
Five things - 15.03.22
Four years - 14.03.22
With Fruit - 14.03.22

other diaries:

strawberrri
orangepeeler
jarofporter
blueisnotred
stellarrobot
marywa
blujeans-uk
dangerspouse
outer-jessie
stepfordtart
ladyofjazz
SWORDFERN
narcissa
newschick
joistmonkey
simeons-twin
annanotbob
ottodixless
life-my-way
jim515
manfromvenus
melodymetuka
portlypete
floodtide
boombasticat
aliannmil

Site Meter