annanotbob2's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Jimi and stuff

My background telly tonight while I write is Classic Albums on Sky Arts, Electric Ladyland by Jimi Hendrix. They just got onto Voodoo Chile, which always reminds me of a dark, wet, winter afternoon when I was teaching and the kids were meant to be writing independently on some piece of coursework. We had a deal, that if I played some music, quite quietly in the background, they'd get on and write without pissing around. There was a lot of dealing and negotiating about what music was acceptable but they were mostly open minded as was I. I allowed myself to be converted to rap (or whatever it was) via Warren G, though without really clocking the lyrics, but the vibe was cool and relaxing, mellow, perfect background to writing. I somehow discovered none of them, even the keen music ones knew about Hendrix so I brought this in. We had to listen to it as loud as we could get away with once, then, heads down and write while I do my marking. One of my favourite teaching memories.


This afternoon I did my second of four monthly writing groups which was pretty good. I did commit to doing half an hour of writing up my two novels every day and already I'm not doing it. But I'm knackered - three hours of that followed by an hour of hard core yoga - it's meant to be easy, is yin - and I'm torn between my commitment to that and my commitment to my therapist and my acupuncturist to not push myself too hard but to work with my energy levels sympathetically. So I haven't done it today but I will tomorrow. If I don't get it done tomorrow I'll have to ask myself what that's about. Am I a writer or am I not a writer? Well I am because I write here most days, but am I a writer of fiction? 


I haven't walked today or even been outside. I think this is the first day this year when I haven't and I'm telling myself that that's OK too, because it is, even if it doesn't feel like it. In brighter news, I've bought myself a (very cheap) ticket to go to a silent disco on Hove Lawns next Saturday at sundown. Weather permitting, of course, but I think it has to be quite wild for it to be cancelled. It's bound to be windy there and quite likely to be wet as well, but we can dance in the rain. I can choose three tracks - my mind went blank as soon as I was told that. Gloria by Patti Smith, obvs - that's my top track of all time, always. But what else? A Bowie, but which one? Rebel Rebel came to mind first but it could be Heroes, or Girl Loves me from Blackstar or Golden Years or or or... too many. Alabama 3 too. Speed of the Sound of Loneliness probably. I'm very excited about it anyway. I've wanted to dance for ages and here we are - an opportunity. I was going to organise one of these silent discos but none of my close friends were interested so I didn't. They all felt inhibited about dancing in public, but I don't give a fuck. People are welcome to think I look ridiculous, that's their concern, not mine. If I take my glasses off I won't be able to see the expression on anyone's face, so all good. 


Today I am grateful for a fire burning while I did yoga, very toasty and warm and such a nice vibe. Or it was till we got onto the lunges - what kind of hell is that?


Keep safe y'all and thanks for reading xxx

12:03 a.m. - 07.02.22

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

Collage and Starlings - 12.02.22
Laters - 11.02.22
Yawn - 10.02.22
Low - 08.02.22
seven - 08.02.22

other diaries:

strawberrri
orangepeeler
jarofporter
blueisnotred
stellarrobot
marywa
blujeans-uk
dangerspouse
outer-jessie
stepfordtart
ladyofjazz
SWORDFERN
narcissa
newschick
joistmonkey
simeons-twin
annanotbob
ottodixless
life-my-way
jim515
manfromvenus
melodymetuka
portlypete
floodtide
boombasticat
aliannmil

Site Meter