annanotbob2's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Laying down

Made marmalade today, quite stressful, don't know why. Yes I do - it's quite a long process and it needs to be done on a day when there's nothing else needs doing rather than trying to fit it in between this and that. In the end it set beautifully and I feel quite chilled about making the second batch tomorrow. It all has to be done at this time of year as you need bitter Seville oranges, full of pips and pectin so they set well; the bitterness is perfect given you need twice the weight of sugar to fruit. But they're only in the shops for a brief period sometime in late January to early February. 


After that I took the dog for a walk along the riverbank, ending up at a churchyard I like, where I'm thinking I'd like to lay my girl's ashes to rest. It's Saxon, the church apparently, which I just looked up and it means any time between 410 and 1066 ad. That's quite a long time. Anyway, the reasons I like it are, firstly that it's peaceful. You can hear the road in the distance, but I think Sam would like that. I don't actually think she's living in her ashes in any way, but I wouldn't want to do something that she wouldn't be happy with and I think she'd like it here. She was getting into thinking about God in the time before she became really compromised by the MS. This is near the river where I walk often. You can have a stone and a vase for flowers. I'd like a grave-type place that I can tend, where I can feel I'm visiting her, paying my respects. Where her name will be for a long time, cast in stone. Here's some pics:


stbot


atstb1


atstb2


There's one of those coffee vans that opens at weekends for walkers


atstb3


It looks nice, doesn't it? 


Today I am grateful for living where I do

11:03 p.m. - 15.01.22

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

No thanks - 22.01.22
Cold - 21.01.22
Not sure - 18.01.22
Grumpy af - 18.01.22
In Peace - 16.01.22

other diaries:

jim515
manfromvenus
jarofporter
blueisnotred
orangepeeler
strawberrri
stellarrobot
marywa
blujeans-uk
life-my-way
newschick
narcissa
SWORDFERN
dangerspouse
stepfordtart
ladyofjazz
outer-jessie
joistmonkey
annanotbob
simeons-twin
melodymetuka
ottodixless
floodtide
boombasticat
aliannmil

Site Meter