annanotbob2's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Reflections

I should go to bed - I have an MRI scan tomorrow morning, early, and I'm quite anxious about it. It's to check what's going on with my dodgy leg. I saw a rheumatologist who decided it might be a trapped L5 nerve so this is to confirm or rule out that diagnosis. If it is, apparently a steroid injection cures it completely for several years in 70% of people. Man, I can't imagine it being cured. I'd be able to do ordinary yoga again and walk as far as I like. I had even been contemplating Crossfit. Who knows. It could be fab.

The NHS is still doing an amazing job, if somewhat slower than usual. I had a physio appointment a full year after I fractured my ankle but it was free. The day before this physio appt, a photo had come up on Facebook memories of me the previous year with my foot encased in that sodding boot. To my horror the boot was on my right leg - for ages I'd been sure I'd fractured my left ankle but now here was the evidence. Fuck. I told the physio this and after loads of questions and movements he concluded that I'd not given it enough time to fully repair and the pain was due to damaged ligaments and/or tendons (can't quite remember). He gave me some exercises to do.

The next day another Facebook memory photo appeared, and the boot was now on the left foot. WTF? I looked at the previous photo and, shit, it was a reflection, taken in the loos at the hospital where I'd rushed for a wee after a whole morning sitting around waiting for X-Rays, results, boots etc. There was a massive mirror, there was me with my foot in a boot - photo opportunity, obviously. It just seemed it was on my right foot and I'd told the physio guy... Ah well. It seems unlikely that I was once a professional person, but there you go. I was lots of things once.

I did the last of my writing workshops last night. I've found them very anxiety-producing so not very enjoyable, but WS, whose project the bookshop is, was there, supposedly just as a keyholder, in the background, getting on with his own writing, but he joined in again and was very enthusiastic about it so I have to acknowledge that it was probably good. Why is it so hard to accept that the rest of them enjoyed it? Who knows, but never mind they're all done now and they paid me loads of money. I bought a piece of art with it, called Everyday Blessings I hope that link works. I love her paintings and now I have a top quality limited print. Just have to get it framed.

Today I am grateful for the NHS, again. Still free, still giving great treatment. I'm worried about the metal crown on one of my teeth, but in the long list of things they ask you about there's no mention of dental crowns so it will be OK, won't it?

Night night xx

10:31 p.m. - 02.12.21

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

Cards - 09.12.21
Come home - 08.12.21
Shaving and stuff - 07.12.21
Still - 05.12.21
Scan - 03.12.21

other diaries:

marywa
kelsi
blujeans-uk
ladyofjazz
strawberrri
dangerspouse
SWORDFERN
narcissa
newschick
life-my-way
joistmonkey
stepfordtart
manfromvenus
melodymetuka
annanotbob
orangepeeler
simeons-twin
ottodixless
jim515
outer-jessie
hitch-hike
floodtide
boombasticat
aliannmil
stellarrobot
jarofporter
u-saved-me
blueisnotred

Site Meter