annanotbob2's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Singing

My therapist suggested I might contact my (older) stepbrother who lives in France and ask him what he remembers about our childhood. So I did, and fucking hell... He'd been storing that up - within hours back came pages and pages of stuff that will take me a good while to get my head round. I mean, he was an academic so writing comes naturally and it made a good read, but fuck me. Flabbergasted I am, gobsmacked. I keep re-reading it. Ah well.

In other news, on Sunday I went to a singing event where about twenty of us met on the edge of a nearby village. The leader taught us a quick short song which we sang a few times before setting off, walking up into the hills. That was the pattern for two hours - walk a bit, stop, learn a new song, sing it a few times, then walk on a bit more, up into the woods, into a clearing in the woods, then out to the top of the highest hill with a view out to the sea and far inland, as the sun was going down... Oh it was blissful. It happens every month and although I can't make the December one, I'll pick it up in January and keep going.

One of the women I chatted to works on a 'therapeutic farm' where people with mental health problems can go and do therapeutic things - OK, I don't know what exactly but I'm going to go up there and find out. I took her email and we've set a date. Not for a couple of weeks as I'm trying to pace myself and I've got all sorts of stuff coming up, including an MRI scan for my leg pain. Woo hoo.

Today I am grateful for having a right laugh in the shop today with the other volunteer. She's twenty years younger than me, currently the mother of wild teenagers, very glad to find someone who's been there, done it, come out the other side and now has two great adult children.

Happy Thanksgiving to all you lot over there.

12:28 a.m. - 26.11.21

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

Reflections - 02.12.21
Walking - 30.11.21
On the Verge - 30.11.21
Get Back - 28.11.21
Good day sunshine - 27.11.21

other diaries:

marywa
kelsi
blujeans-uk
ladyofjazz
strawberrri
dangerspouse
SWORDFERN
narcissa
newschick
life-my-way
joistmonkey
stepfordtart
manfromvenus
melodymetuka
annanotbob
orangepeeler
simeons-twin
ottodixless
jim515
outer-jessie
hitch-hike
floodtide
boombasticat
aliannmil
stellarrobot
jarofporter
u-saved-me
blueisnotred

Site Meter