annanotbob2's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Back

It says it's been forty-eight days since I updated, which is weird and I have no explanation, though when I look at my buddy list there's a lot of us not writing.

I think this phase of the pandemic is hard in a new and different way. It's not gone. People are still dying, still needing hospital treatment, but now it's those who haven't been vaccinated, plus a few who have but are very frail and/or have other health issues, such as recent chemo which fucks up the immune system. And now we have all these anti-vaxxers, claiming the whole thing is a big con, as if somehow all the medics in the world have gathered at some secret meeting and planned this fake virus that won't really kill you and a fake vaccine that will cause you harm. It's all very depressing. I've had my booster, so that's three jabs altogether and I'm still wearing a mask on the bus and in public indoor places. I have taken to using the bus, as parking in the city is so expensive. I don't mind it being expensive - it's an old city that wasn't built for cars and when parking was cheaper you couldn't move for queues of cars waiting to get in the car parks; now I park out of town where it's still free and catch the bus in, using my free pensioner's bus pass. I have one of those masks with a plastic vent in the side, supposedly the ones that stop shit getting in as well as out. And I try not to panic.

At one point we achieved the dubious distinction of having 20% of current global covid infections here in the UK. Not surprising when the general attitude is that it's over - presumably Austria going back onto full lockdown is just them being ridiculously cautious. I know more and more people that are getting it, post vaccination. None of them needing hospitalisation, apart from my niece and her new-born baby, who were in and out several times as his temperature kept getting too high for comfort. Scary but they're OK now. Everyone else has just been really fucking poorly, to the extent that I certainly don't want it. The pneumonia episode in 2019 is still too vivid, not for me thanks.

I'm going to stop now and go to bed and try really hard to come back tomorrow and write about good stuff that's been going on. I hope you are as well as can be - do drop me a note if you feel like it. I have missed you.

And I have missed doing my gratitudes. Today I am grateful for having been to a singing thing in the woods - awesomeness indeed, practically perfect. Night night xx

12:00 a.m. - 22.11.21

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

Good day sunshine - 27.11.21
Singing - 26.11.21
Dancing - 24.11.21
Bookshop - 23.11.21
Out - 22.11.21

other diaries:

u-saved-me
aliannmil
jarofporter
orangepeeler
kelsi
strawberrri
stellarrobot
marywa
blujeans-uk
dangerspouse
ladyofjazz
SWORDFERN
narcissa
simeons-twin
outer-jessie
stepfordtart
newschick
life-my-way
joistmonkey
annanotbob
ottodixless
manfromvenus
melodymetuka
jim515
hitch-hike
floodtide
boombasticat

Site Meter