annanotbob2's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Cats and Dogs

Today I met my new writing mentor, a bloke, seems like a decent bloke, a local published, established author. I was nervous so I talked too much and I hadn't read any of his books and don't really fancy any of them, but I think we survived. I told him about having too many projects and he thought the one to go for was the one based on Of Mice and Men, but about female East European cleaners here in the UK. So my job is to print it and read it, in the first instance. Can I believe that I wrote a whole first draft of a novel, with a plot and characters I was pleased with, but never read it through let alone attempted to edit it? But I will.

I also felt like having a little pipe, a bit of grass, and I can't find it, the grass or the pipe, and I realise I haven't had a smoke since before lockdown started in March last year. Things like that make you wonder who you've become. I've had a look around and can't find either the pipe or the old film cannister I keep the grass in. I used to have loads of those.

This weekend the weather forecast is for endless heavy rain and strong winds. Meh. I added up my September miles and this year I have walked 685.5 miles, which means if I want to complete 1,000 miles by the end of the year I need to average 3.4 miles a day for the rest of the year. I was beginning to feel a bit of determination rising within me - I can walk that far every day, especially if I plot out a few reliable routes, but man, I don't fancy starting in weather like that. We shall see.

I found my pipe and a grinder with a smidgeon still in it, but no lighter or matches. Who am I? This person without a light - can that really be me? I found a candle which I managed to light off the gas hob then rolled up a bit of paper and succeeded in having a few tokes. But when I went into the kitchen there'd been a bit of a clattery noise, as of an animal escaping through the cat flap. But the dog was asleep in here, one cat was in the hall and the other on the landing, and there's a lock to stop other cats coming in so what the fuck was all that? Or was it a mouse or something bigger? I don't like it. Bed then. Night night. xx

12:27 a.m. - 02.10.21

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

Dancing - 24.11.21
Bookshop - 23.11.21
Out - 22.11.21
Back - 22.11.21
Reading and writing - 04.10.21

other diaries:

u-saved-me
aliannmil
jarofporter
orangepeeler
kelsi
strawberrri
stellarrobot
marywa
blujeans-uk
dangerspouse
ladyofjazz
SWORDFERN
narcissa
simeons-twin
outer-jessie
stepfordtart
newschick
life-my-way
joistmonkey
annanotbob
ottodixless
manfromvenus
melodymetuka
jim515
hitch-hike
floodtide
boombasticat

Site Meter