annanotbob2's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Hard

Today has been hard again, for various reasons. This fucking petrol shortage feels like the last straw. I have some in my car, but not much. I'm driving down to the coast road to where I can park for free then catching the bus into Brighton using my old age pensioner's bus pass, also free. But again, there was a queue all down the road blocking the traffic for ages, making me really anxious. The guy who runs the bookshop is absolutely cool about me being late - I'm a volunteer so he's glad I'm there at all, but it's not easy. Anyway, I made it and it was all OK.

But then I went to see Grandson who today moved with his GF into a flat, their first home out away from parental care. He is a diamond kid, honestly and the flat they have is perfect for their needs, right in the town centre, but behind the busy road so not too noisy, with a view out over the sea from the balcony. I felt so proud of him and he was so happy but then I cried on the bus on the way home that his mum couldn't see him, will miss everything he achieves and who he is as an adult. And she laid the foundations for the good person he's become. She loved him wholeheartedly but didn't spoil him or fill him with any sense of entitlement. The loss of her settles down for a while then comes raging up out of circumstances, taking me by surprise like a punch in the gut all over again.

So I'm going to bed. Night night. Thank you for the notes. They mean a lot, a mad amount. Big love to you all, lovely internet friends.

I am grateful today for a handsome young man who gave me a trolley, one of those ones with a flat bit that you pile things up on then tilt back and wheel it along. It will be perfect for the camping gear when we're at the kind of festival where we can't drive up to where we want to pitch our tent. Festivals where we're punters not workers.

12:09 a.m. - 01.10.21

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

Bookshop - 23.11.21
Out - 22.11.21
Back - 22.11.21
Reading and writing - 04.10.21
Cats and Dogs - 02.10.21

other diaries:

u-saved-me
aliannmil
jarofporter
orangepeeler
kelsi
strawberrri
stellarrobot
marywa
blujeans-uk
dangerspouse
ladyofjazz
SWORDFERN
narcissa
simeons-twin
outer-jessie
stepfordtart
newschick
life-my-way
joistmonkey
annanotbob
ottodixless
manfromvenus
melodymetuka
jim515
hitch-hike
floodtide
boombasticat

Site Meter