annanotbob2's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Writing

I'm meeting my sister-in-law on the sea glass beach at 8.30 in the morning so I'm allowing myself a thirty minute blogging time. I feel really happy that she contacted me and suggested it - it makes me feel we have our relationship back on track.

Today I had lunch with Grandson for the first time since before all this last lockdown - so probably October. I did drop off his Christmas presents and had a brief doorstep conversation then, and we've had zoom lunches, but this was the first proper time together for TOO FUCKING LONG. So it was pretty good. He's such a sweet pea, honestly, if you met him, you'd love him too. I bigged myself up a bit as a writer, about the progress of my Bella and Paul story, after writing about them in the Friday group and getting really good feedback, so now I've made a commitment to myself to advance the project in some way, no matter how tiny, every day.

Step one, is writing a list of stages so here it is:

1. Gather up all the notebooks with B&P fragments in.
2. Flick through, folding down each page that has a bit on.
3. Mark all the untyped sections
4. Type them up and insert them in sequence.
5. Print it and read it all through
6. Find the original novel
7. Print that and re-read it.

At that point I should have some idea what I've got and where I might want to take it. Most of those stages can be spread over more than one day, so long as I DO SOMETHING instead of just talking about it.

Cool.

Tomorrow I'm having my eyes tested and then getting new lenses fitted in my old Vivienne Westwood frames. They're the most expensive and most well-made frames I ever had, even staying on my head when I was thrown off a banana boat at speed in Minorca and went right underneath, all of a dither and a panic, coughing and spluttering. I didn't know they were Vivienne Westwood when I chose them and had been wearing them for about two years when someone remarked that it wasn't like me to wear anything with the designer's name on - it's written down the sides. Fucking shit, but there you go. I might paint over it when I get them back. They're red and I'm having reactalite sunglass shit put on, so they get dark in bright lights - I can't be doing with managing prescription sunglasses,

Three Good Things:
1. I have had an early morning, brisk, one mile walk three days in a row and have been sleeping earlier.
2. The goat stew I made was utterly delicious, with red peppers, chorizo, sherry vinegar, balsamic vinegar, red wine, paprika... served with potatoes that had buttery leeks mashed into them and cauliflower. Two nights in a row, yum
3. The new Katherine Heiny book arrived and it's so great - I can't yet work out exactly what she does as these characters aren't like the ones in Standard Deviation, but they're having the same effect on me - I want to hang out with them. Great stuff.

Night night xx

10:30 p.m. - 16.04.21

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

Sunday - 25.04.21
Oh such a perfect day - 22.04.21
Who's that dog? - 21.04.21
New courses - 19.04.21
quick five - 18.04.21

other diaries:

u-saved-me
aliannmil
jarofporter
orangepeeler
kelsi
strawberrri
stellarrobot
marywa
blujeans-uk
dangerspouse
ladyofjazz
SWORDFERN
narcissa
simeons-twin
outer-jessie
stepfordtart
newschick
life-my-way
joistmonkey
annanotbob
ottodixless
manfromvenus
melodymetuka
jim515
hitch-hike
floodtide
boombasticat

Site Meter