annanotbob2's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Caring

My pal J is over from Las Vegas, visiting her mum, who has suddenly become afflicted with two types of dementia and COPD and needs to be looked after by people who know what they're doing. J had just arrived when her sister, who would normally be sharing all this (they're all local apart from J who went to be a showgirl and stayed), her sister was involved in a head-on collision, entirely the other driver's fault, and has multiple fractures and shattered this and god knows what else. Bloody hell. I spent some time with her this afternoon and am going to try and get a shortlist of nursing homes together for her to visit. It's hard - all the inspections seem so long ago now and they all seem to have vacancies as care home residents were disproportionately represented in covid fatalities. Ah well. I have a list to phone in the morning, with questions.

Last week's hatha yoga class was quite hard for me, which I mentioned at the end of the class. I have very little upper body or core strength. Today I got a message before the class saying she was going to focus on those areas, especially for me. Huh. Me and my mouth. It was even harder, but it's the only way to change it. I ache in all sorts of weird places now. I do love her, but more when we do yin.

We've now entered the next stage of coming out of lockdown, so non-essential shops have opened and pubs and restaurants are open to serve customers outside. The weather of course, has been utter shite - really cold and even snow yesterday. It didn't settle but danced big fat snowflakes in our faces, just to show it could. I went into Brighton for acupuncture so had a mooch about afterwards and found it all seemingly back to normal. Loads of people chucking alcohol down their necks at an alarming rate. They seem to be proud of being desperate to get back into a pub, drinking gallons, unlike other mind-altering addictions. You don't hear people boasting about how much crack cocaine they need, and I didn't even when I moved in circles when that occurred. Alcohol is in a class of its own in many ways.

Three good things:
1. seeing J today who I love very much
2. Doing a decent painting in Tuesday Art Group
3. Daughter putting the first of our videos up and it being OK - I'll post a link when it gets to youtube.

Laters xxx

12:00 a.m. - 14.04.21

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

Who's that dog? - 21.04.21
New courses - 19.04.21
quick five - 18.04.21
Writing - 16.04.21
Good day - 14.04.21

other diaries:

u-saved-me
aliannmil
jarofporter
orangepeeler
kelsi
strawberrri
stellarrobot
marywa
blujeans-uk
dangerspouse
ladyofjazz
SWORDFERN
narcissa
simeons-twin
outer-jessie
stepfordtart
newschick
life-my-way
joistmonkey
annanotbob
ottodixless
manfromvenus
melodymetuka
jim515
hitch-hike
floodtide
boombasticat

Site Meter