annanotbob2's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Sonnetry

Late again so quick again. I got stuck on the sofa in a horizontal position and there was no shifting me till the dog started barking something chronic out the back. Next door has a cat who loves winding Shirley up. During the day he likes to walk along the top of the fence between our gardens, slowly, slowly till she is beside herself with excitement, then he jumps down and out of sight. At night when she's shut indoors he sits outside the glass door cleaning himself, in full sight, mere inches away from my poor little dog. Luckily his owner knows he does this and that that's why Shirley is barking - she's the only person round here who talks to me and if it pisses anyone else off I don't give a fuck, frankly. But I can't take much myself so in the end I have to get up. Sigh.

There's nothing really new to report - I managed to walk two miles today for the first time since I last fell over, so that was pleasing. I hope to get back to proper walking soon but am determined to not overdo it.

Today was the last Wednesday writing group for a couple of weeks, boo. We started off writing about Easter in any way we liked, then had a bash at making it into a sonnet, then were invited to write about resurrecting who or whatever we liked. Mine ended up as another sonnet - not literature, but a ten minute sonnet, drifted a bit towards the end but included here by way of a change:

I'd bring back Dylan circa '75
And tiny little gigs in local halls.
He'd share the stage with Bowie. still alive
And making loads more tunes to thrill us all.
The grass we smoke will get us mildly high
Not blitzed and frazzled, wild and uncontrolled.
The trains still run, the buses still come by
We'd still get home, we'd not be quite this old.
The seas are clean, the beaches free of waste,
But other things can stay as they are now -
Like human rights for all not just a few.
We'd know that black lives matter and me too.
The world moves on, it changes come what may
Let's aim to do our best, and write each day.

Three Good Things:
1. I am seeing Daughter tomorrow, yay!
2. Son is coming down on Saturday - even more yay! I haven't seen him since November, ffs
3. I now weigh 85kg which is a bit less than 13 and a half stone. I'm quite a way beneath the obese bit on the BMI scale - 28.5 when it was 32.4. Still overweight, but on my way back into my favourite Day of the Dead dress.

Laters, peeps xxx

12:16 a.m. - 01.04.21

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

On the radio - 11.04.21
Yeah yeah - 08.04.21
Quick ten minutes - 06.04.21
Against the clock - 04.04.21
Lethargy - 03.04.21

other diaries:

u-saved-me
aliannmil
jarofporter
orangepeeler
kelsi
strawberrri
stellarrobot
marywa
blujeans-uk
dangerspouse
ladyofjazz
SWORDFERN
narcissa
simeons-twin
outer-jessie
stepfordtart
newschick
life-my-way
joistmonkey
annanotbob
ottodixless
manfromvenus
melodymetuka
jim515
hitch-hike
floodtide
boombasticat

Site Meter