annanotbob2's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Mothers and that

Today was Mothering Sunday here in the UK. I don't know why we have it attached to Easter here - it's the fourth Sunday in Lent - when we're a pretty secular society, but in the US it's Mother's Day, later and purely commercial, when they're much more into all the God stuff. You'd think it would be the other way round.

It's always been a hard day for me - Ma, the stepmum, was always vile and like a fool I always tried to win her round, but it never worked. Sam started to get really poorly before Mum died so I slid into sorrow for one reason to sorrow for another - ain't no pleasing me, is there? Today I started off overwhelmed with sadness at no Sammie, for me and for her son and for all of us.

But later Daughter collected me and we went to our favourite bit of beach, dragging behind us everything we needed to have a great afternoon. A firepit, logs, a pan full of stew, veggie fritters, cake, chairs, blankets, a dog, each other. It was just right. We sat by the fire chatting and laughing, cooking, reading to each other things we'd written, singing, eating, chasing the dog. Then she had a swim before the sun went right down and brought me home in time for yoga. I felt truly loved and that's because I am. My darling girl.

This evening I watched Grace, a cop show on ITV (available on ITV hub if you missed it and fancy it), based on the books by Peter James, set and and filmed in Brighton and Shoreham, featuring just about every view I've ever taken a photo of and quite a few I haven't. The characters, not the cops, were rich so had penthouse flats with views I've never seen, that were just fantastic. I thought it was going to be the story that ended with a car chase along the main road and onto the peninsula known as the beach, where I was living when I first read that, in my bed late at night, freaking out more and more as they got nearer and nearer. Except they didn't, because it was just a fucking story, but it got me going for a bit there. It didn't end like that on TV, but maybe it's the next book. I don't know if it was a great cop show, but it gave great Brighton.

Three Good Things
1. Daughter gave me an amazingly good drawing of Shirley which I will get framed
2. The food we ate on the beach - cooking over an open fire in the fresh air is some kind of primordial human activity, isn't it? It gave me such a sense of peace and gratitude.
3. One of my friends made a comment on Daughter's instagram page calling me a lovely lovely human. I felt overwhelmed and didn't know how to answer, but I liked it.

12:27 a.m. - 15.03.21

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

Art and dad - 29.03.21
Now - 29.03.21
Ho bleeding ho - 22.03.21
Scans and shit - 18.03.21
On and on - 18.03.21

other diaries:

u-saved-me
aliannmil
jarofporter
orangepeeler
kelsi
strawberrri
stellarrobot
marywa
blujeans-uk
dangerspouse
ladyofjazz
SWORDFERN
narcissa
simeons-twin
outer-jessie
stepfordtart
newschick
life-my-way
joistmonkey
annanotbob
ottodixless
manfromvenus
melodymetuka
jim515
hitch-hike
floodtide
boombasticat

Site Meter