annanotbob2's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

On and on

Got up at sparrow's fart to go to dermatology clinic where, before even 9 o'clock I'd had one lesion burnt off my leg with frozen nitrogen and had local anaesthetic, a biopsy and a stitch in the skin above my lip, now covered with a dressing. Man. Again I was told I was in really good health for my age. Yeah, apart from skin cancer, a stroke, sciatica and a twisted ankle. Looking good.

Since then I've had a long phone chat with Son, ranting about having a broken boiler in his new flat and no hot water since he moved in two weeks ago. Then a phone session with my key worker, who is quite frail herself, so that was me done for the day.

There's been awful stuff going on here in response to a woman's murder (allegedly), at the hands of a serving police officer. I can't go into it as I'm unutterably depressed at the lack of progress in this area over my lifetime. The fucking BBC ran its segment on the story with the tagline "Women's safety concerns" as if the cause of their fears is a big mystery, when it's not, it's men. A male journalist persuaded them to change it to "male violence against women" and pointed out that 97% of violent acts are committed by men and here we are again, awash in a sea of 'Not all men' bollocks, while six more women and a girl have been killed since this all started last week. I can't bear it and I can't find a way to hide from it. I've been fighting this fight, reclaim the night, the streets, lighting candles, all this, since Sutcliffe in the 1980s and I want to walk away now and hand it over, but all of my escape routes are blocked, it seems. I know I sound hard and horrible and I guess I am. I'm still too fucked up to be able to reach out and care beyond my tight, immediate circle. Shameful but there it is.

Good things
1. We're down to 11 new Covid cases per 100,000 in my area. We were at almost 1,000 a few weeks ago.
2. I pruned all the roses in the front garden although I couldn't get the bits to stay alight when I tried to burn them. But that's garden work two days in a row.
3. I let myself go off piste with my food today as it was all so hard, and had fried rosti potatoes as part of my brunch, two slices of toast and some chocolate and now I write it down I think for fuck's sake I should have got something much more comforting than that, like a whole sticky toffee pudding with cream or a proper full English breakfast. Ah well.

Take care, y'all.

9:16 p.m. - 13.03.21

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

Now - 29.03.21
Ho bleeding ho - 22.03.21
Scans and shit - 18.03.21
On and on - 18.03.21
Mothers and that - 15.03.21

other diaries:

u-saved-me
aliannmil
jarofporter
orangepeeler
kelsi
strawberrri
stellarrobot
marywa
blujeans-uk
dangerspouse
ladyofjazz
SWORDFERN
narcissa
simeons-twin
outer-jessie
stepfordtart
newschick
life-my-way
joistmonkey
annanotbob
ottodixless
manfromvenus
melodymetuka
jim515
hitch-hike
floodtide
boombasticat

Site Meter