annanotbob2's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

RIP neighbour

I found out today that A, the lad who lived in the room next door to Sam in the care home died last week. Man. He was only 36. He got covid and lived through that but it fucked his whole system so after it had passed he slowly faded away. He was great - when I first went to look at the place, after seeing another care home - awful, military-style regime, so depressing, the owner was showing me round - this is the dining room, the kitchen and here's the living room... where this lad had music blasting out of the TV really loud and was rocking out in his wheelchair, tipping it forward and back on its wheels, yelling and banging his head to the music. "Hi A," said the owner, then to me said, "This is A, he's into..whatever it was, some band I'd never heard of," and we carried on round the home, without further explanation or comment. I knew it would suit us and it did. A came with me and Sam to a few gigs. I liked him a lot and feel so sad for him and for his family. He might have had severe learning difficulties and whatever physical difficulties lead to him using a wheelchair, but he was a cheerful bloke, always laughing and grinning, living his life. He'll be missed.

I found out because I bumped into a group of them from the care home, two staff and two residents - it was so good to see them. I remember how shocked I was at that being the right place for Sam, how it felt such a loss, that 'these people' were her appropriate companions. Just shows what a narrow view I had. Little did I know how fond I'd get of some of them, once I came to know who they were.

So that was my day. Before that I did the food shop as Bloke is still poorly - first time I've done it since the virus as Bloke was sure I was vulnerable after the pneumonia and also he likes doing it. It was hard and I didn't do it all as I lost the plot a bit, but I got enough for a few days and made a big pot of chicken soup, a good healing broth.

Three Good Things:
1. I was really touched when I said hello to W, in his wheelchair today and he recognised my voice and smiled and hid his face. He was the one who came with us to see Jools Holland's Big Band - at the Brighton centre where I had the vaccine - and loved it so much he wanted to get right up on stage and yelled about that all the way through. He's had Covid too - they all got it a month or so ago - and I am so glad he made it through. He used to wheel himself into Sam's room and sit watching telly with her. I've missed him.
2. It was warm again today - it's hard not to like that.
3. I felt as if I'd eaten masses today and would be bound to have put on lbs by tomorrow, but when I worked it out it was just one small packet of crisps and a hot cross bun. It's not the end of the fucking world.

11:37 p.m. - 22.02.21

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

Better - ish - 02.03.21
TIA - 01.03.21
Meh - 27.02.21
Negative - 24.02.21
Testing - 24.02.21

other diaries:

u-saved-me
aliannmil
jarofporter
orangepeeler
kelsi
strawberrri
stellarrobot
marywa
blujeans-uk
dangerspouse
ladyofjazz
SWORDFERN
narcissa
simeons-twin
outer-jessie
stepfordtart
newschick
life-my-way
joistmonkey
annanotbob
ottodixless
manfromvenus
melodymetuka
jim515
hitch-hike
floodtide
boombasticat

Site Meter