annanotbob2's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Stormy weather

First night with half a sleeping pill was fine. I found myself reading till about 1.30 and was still awake at 2.30 but not for much longer. Which, for a first night coming down off an addiction seems pretty good to me. Maybe it'll get worse, but maybe it won't.

I'm having trouble with my samsung tablet, not picking up the video for the recordings of the art webinars. I can hear the voice but can only get frozen segments of video. I told the teachers and they sent me another link which was exactly the same, but fine on my phone. So I had a go at Botticelli's Venus, just the head and hair, but it was pretty shite. I used smaller paper than usual and it's no good for me - I don't have that kind of fine motor control - my lines are too thick and not in exactly the right place and it's very dispiriting. Ah well. I might have another go tomorrow on A3 - I won't have the webinar as it ran out tonight but I might be able to remember the instructions.

We'd been forecast rain and snow and fierce north winds (my phone said 100% chance) so when I went for my walk I wore all the mad clothes, but nothing happened. It was cold - it's February - but no wind, no rain, nothing much at all, flat sea. Good sky, though. Weather forecasts with strong winds are always dodgy - winds can shift around - it's always a best guess and climate change being real makes everything a lot less predictable. Tomorrow is due to be fucking freezing all day, with snow, but that's unlikely. The last time we had snow that settled and stayed for more than a couple of hours here on the south coast, was 2010 and the time before that was 1985 so I am sceptical. (It's quite annoying that the spellcheck underlines sceptical so I checked, but that is correct. Does Diaryland have its own spellcheck? Probably not - it's underlined Diaryland too)

Three Good Things
1. Great long chat with Son who is fine and hopes to be moving soon to a better, cheaper flat in a nicer area.
2. Had a whole roast celeriac for tea, which was delicious and easy. It takes a long time - 2 hours, but worth doing again.
3. It was cool walking on the pier today - I like how visibility is weird - the horizon out to sea was as sharp as a knife edge, but the wind farm wasn't visible at all, which it almost always is. To the east it was very hazy, as if the coastline was straight and didn't have harbour arms and power station chimneys. I don't know how all this works, but I enjoy experiencing it. I forgot to look for the Isle of Wight - apparently if you can see that from here, the weather will change. But maybe that's like red sky at night, shepherds' delight. It was very red tonight...

12:05 a.m. - 07.02.21

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

Vaccine alarm - 14.02.21
Bella takes a walk - 13.02.21
Just TGTT - 11.02.21
No dentist, but rose hips - 09.02.21
Mostly moaning - 08.02.21

other diaries:

u-saved-me
aliannmil
jarofporter
orangepeeler
kelsi
strawberrri
stellarrobot
marywa
blujeans-uk
dangerspouse
ladyofjazz
SWORDFERN
narcissa
simeons-twin
outer-jessie
stepfordtart
newschick
life-my-way
joistmonkey
annanotbob
ottodixless
manfromvenus
melodymetuka
jim515
hitch-hike
floodtide
boombasticat

Site Meter