annanotbob2's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Some day

I can't work out what number of days into the pandemic we are - Jesus, I never thought it would get to this, last this long. I thought it would be ten weeks or something and I'd have a short account of what it was like for me and maybe it would be interesting later. But here we are, coming up to 300 days and another peak of awfulness, at least here and probably in the US.

I'm not quite as freaked out as I was, probably because the season of merry fucking this and happy bloody that and did you have a good is all over and here we are coming into cold, dark January and it's much easier for me to be in tune with the general vibe.

Today would have been my brother's birthday. 63. I can't believe he's been gone almost three years. I don't know how people are coping with losing someone in all this - I feel that Brother and Sammie kind of got lost in the mayhem, that they deserved more mourning, but they both had well-attended funerals where we gathered together to celebrate their lives and tell stories and cry and hug each other and none of that is possible now.

Anyway, I'm going to bed - it's 1.30 am and I should be asleep, but I vowed to write, then stayed up to watch the rest of Bridgerton on Netflix ,which I loved. It's kind of like Downton Abbey in that it makes little attempt at any kind of historical accuracy, playing fast and loose with anything that gets in the way of a good story. The women are great and there is much mention of periods - two separate plot strands depending on their arrival - and even a rare sight of menstrual blood.

So, happy new year - I can hardly bring myself to hope - years have got worse and worse recently. 2016 was all the greats dying - Bowie, Prince, Victoria Wood, Caroline Aherne, Wogan, Ali, and many more. In 2017 we were told that Sam was dying and she was in the hospice for end of life care, in 2018 my brother died, in 2019 Sammie died and in 2020 over a million people have died from this awful virus. Every new year I've thought it couldn't get any worse so now I have nothing to say - today was Friday, tomorrow is Saturday, it will go how it goes.

I'm back in lockdown. I can see from the local facebook pages that people are out and about, making excuses, mixing - there were NYE parties apparently, but I'm not playing. I hugged Daughter on Christmas Day which was seven days ago, or eight now, and I haven't been near anyone since. Apart from Bloke, but he hasn't either. I walk, that's all, and I'm avoiding the seafront for now as it's too crowded. I've not been able to get an answer to what is meant by the new strain being "more contagious" but I've lost my confidence in it being safe outdoors.

There have been lots of good things as well this year and I hope to write about some of them tomorrow.

Thank you for reading - I mean that - thank you. And keep safe, ya hear?? xxx

1:12 a.m. - 02.01.21

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

Weird times - 06.01.21
More - 05.01.21
Good things in 2020 pt 3 - 04.01.21
Good things in 2020 pt 2 - 03.01.21
Good things of 2020 - 02.01.21

other diaries:

u-saved-me
orangepeeler
jarofporter
stellarrobot
strawberrri
marywa
blujeans-uk
dangerspouse
ladyofjazz
SWORDFERN
narcissa
newschick
life-my-way
annanotbob
joistmonkey
manfromvenus
simeons-twin
outer-jessie
stepfordtart
ottodixless
melodymetuka
jim515
hitch-hike
floodtide
boombasticat
aliannmil
kelsi

Site Meter