annanotbob2's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Day 253

Sunday, Sunday. Still covid times, but kind of wild. I met my pal M by the river for a walk, an outdoor, safe thing to do. But a new coffee van has appeared by the bridge, where we'd arranged to meet, and the place was heaving with people. There was no way of walking along there and maintaining a 2m distance, or even a 1m distance from other people. The number of new cases in this local area has doubled in the last ten days, and people are still dying, young people, but I feel like a paranoid freak for trying to maintain safety. I can't even remember what life used to be like - I don't expect you can either. Imagine, going to a friend's house, maybe staying the night. Dancing in a club, in the middle of a crowd of people, all sweaty and hot, all singing along to the tune, all the breath mingling, safely. Unbelievable. Even a car ride with a load of friends together.

I watched episode one of The Crown. It's well dodgy really, isn't it, making drama about people who are still alive? I always think that, because whether you want it to or not, a story fixes in your head once you've seen it acted out, even though you know events have been cut and pasted together to give a good dramatic structure and may have been quite different, or when private conversations are imagined. So many people all over twitter responding as if there'd been a hidden camera and this is all stone cold truth make me weary to my bones with the stupidity of this world we live in.

Three good things:
1. I found a new yin yoga class that was fucking great so I am leaving the studio where they're all hipster dipshits and now have two good classes every week. I shall try to do some from youtube on other days.
2. I cooked dinner tonight. Enough for two days - a pork casserole with lots of bay leaves, celery, carrots, onions (of course) and slices of cabbage laid on top to cook in the steam . We had it with beans and cauliflower and although not the most thrilling taste experience, it was good, hearty, healthy food.
2. There was a long programme on Ch5 about Kenneth Williams tonight, which was just a balm to my poor old soul. He was so funny, so clever and so very much himself and no one else. I wonder of we still have the capacity to form ourselves in our own image any more, or if we're too surrounded by expectations and images of how we 'should' be. I'm trying to think of young eccentric people - there must be some out there. Jedward are pretty wild. I remember them in the Big Brother house - the most creative people ever - endless ways to pass the time using the limited resources available. Brilliant.

10:28 p.m. - 22.11.20

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

Day 261 - 30.11.20
Day 259 - 28.11.20
Day 258 - 27.11.20
Day 256 - 25.11.20
Day 254 - 23.11.20

other diaries:

u-saved-me
orangepeeler
jarofporter
stellarrobot
strawberrri
marywa
blujeans-uk
dangerspouse
ladyofjazz
SWORDFERN
narcissa
newschick
life-my-way
annanotbob
joistmonkey
manfromvenus
simeons-twin
outer-jessie
stepfordtart
ottodixless
melodymetuka
jim515
hitch-hike
floodtide
boombasticat
aliannmil
kelsi

Site Meter