annanotbob2's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Day 241

A better day, with a Turner painting in Tuesday art group, a walk on the hills as the sun went down and something else in between that I seem to have forgotten.
I now have the ointment for these pre-cancerous skin things and feel very anxious about using it. The instructions say things like "It is VERY IMPORTANT that you do not use too much cream" but how the fuck do I know what too much is? I just decided I'm not going to use it till I've spoken with someone. Too anxious. I have to go in to have a blood test in the morning - oh for fuck's sake, I'm an old woman droning on about my aches and pains, makes me think of this prayer, a dire and pertinent warning as I am guilty as charged of just about everything mentioned here. I shall try harder. I don't believe it's 17th century - the word 'bossy' is far more modern than that but it's still good, especially for us old 'uns:

Seventeenth Century Nun’s Prayer:
Lord, thou knows better than I that I am growing older and will some day be old. Keep me from the fatal habit of thinking that I must say something on every subject and on every occasion.
Release me from craving to straighten out everybody’s affairs make me thoughtful, but not moody, helpful but not bossy.
With my vast store of knowledge, it seems a pity not to use it all, but you know, Lord, that I will want a few friends at the end.
Keep my mind free from the endless recital of endless detail. Give me wings to get to the point.
Seal my lips on my aches and pains. They are increasing, and the love of rehearsing grows sweeter as the years go by. I do not ask for grace enough to enjoy the tales of others’ pains, but help me to endure them with patience.
I dare not ask for an improved memory, but for a growing humility and a lessening of cocksureness when my memory seems to clash with the memories of others. Teach me the glorious lesson that occasionally I may be mistaken.
Keep me reasonably sweet. I do not want to be a saint. (Some of them are so hard to live
with!) But a sour old person is one of the crowning works of the devil.
Give me the ability to see good things in unexpected places, and talents in unexpected people.
And give me, Lord, the grace to tell
them so. Amen.

Three good things:
1. J's lost cat was found, scrawny and starving but alive. She's still keeping Lily (yay)
2. I've been signed up to be part of a research project into creativity and connection - doing stuff while walking, then a bit of art, then a zoom meeting, once a week for six weeks. Yeah, go on then
3. The kitchen is progressing.

xxx

10:54 p.m. - 10.11.20

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

Day next but one - 18.11.20
day - 16.11.20
Day 245 - 13.11.20
Day 243 - 12.11.20
Day 242 - 11.11.20

other diaries:

u-saved-me
orangepeeler
jarofporter
stellarrobot
strawberrri
marywa
blujeans-uk
dangerspouse
ladyofjazz
SWORDFERN
narcissa
newschick
life-my-way
annanotbob
joistmonkey
manfromvenus
simeons-twin
outer-jessie
stepfordtart
ottodixless
melodymetuka
jim515
hitch-hike
floodtide
boombasticat
aliannmil
kelsi

Site Meter