annanotbob2's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Day 194

Majorly agitated still by combination of fracture boot and R doing the fucking decorating. He's a nice man, who I've known since he was a child of 8, my best pal's son, meticulously diligent about his work with not a trace of blokey fuckery going on, but still, there he is, sanding and hoovering, painting and being there in my house when all I want to do is curl up in my bed and cry.

Instead of which I keep busy. This morning I went for a walk on the sea front, a bit more westerly than of late, with M, R's mum and we just missed the rain. Beautiful light - but I shall put the photos together at the bottom as I can't seem to write beneath them. It was fiercely windy and exhilarating - took my mind of my woes for the time we were out, but my heart sank when she dropped me off and I had to come back into all the noise and Bloke and all that, not knowing when I'd get out again, beyond walking round the block. I managed 1.6 miles today, there and back, which felt utterly exhausting. M brought me a bunch of dahlias she'd grown on her allotment - fantastic colours, a real treat.

Today's covid figures are 6,178 new cases, the highest at any point. Yet here we are, all out and about. In the spring the peak was only 5,000 and something and we were all staying at home. Now they say pubs must close by 10. I am beside myself about this. My instinct is to batten down the hatches, stop the house renovations, stop the visitors, stop meeting people, stop everything. But actually, when I look at the figures they're saying locally there have been 10 cases per 100,000 people which is one in ten thousand, so really I need to chill out about that.

Maybe by painting, by learning to do it properly. I had my first attempt with oils today during the drop-in art session. I'd got all the materials I needed together but didn't for a moment consider what I might paint. The Turner print was on the floor by my feet so I picked that up, taped it to the table leg in front of me and had a go at that. The sky is miles too red, the masts are way too thick, but J the teacher says I can go over and over it was many times as I like so I will.

Also yin yoga and keyboard practice - I'm on 'I'm a Believer' now, trying to learn timing, or rhythm - can't remember what word she used, but that's where I'm at.

So I am keeping going when I'd rather not. Three good things today: a lovely bunch of flowers from my friend; watching Ghosts on BBC1 catch up - very silly, by the Horrible Histories team; feeling when I did the Turner today that I'm beginning to look properly before drawing - I need to learn to do thinner lines though - I know, get a smaller brush. Lol.

Good night. xx

12:32 a.m. - 25.09.20

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

Day 201 - 01.10.20
Day 200 - 30.09.20
Day 199 - 29.09.20
Day 197 - 27.09.20
Day 195 - 26.09.20

other diaries:

u-saved-me
orangepeeler
jarofporter
stellarrobot
strawberrri
marywa
blujeans-uk
dangerspouse
ladyofjazz
SWORDFERN
narcissa
newschick
life-my-way
annanotbob
joistmonkey
manfromvenus
simeons-twin
outer-jessie
stepfordtart
ottodixless
melodymetuka
jim515
hitch-hike
floodtide
boombasticat
aliannmil
kelsi

Site Meter