annanotbob2's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Day 189

I went to be far too late and got up far too early so I'm going to make this a quickie.

I had lunch with Son today, in Brighton. We're both expecting lockdown restrictions to return soon so this was getting one last visit and one last hug in while we could. I travelled in on the bus, which was OK, though Bloke took me to and fetched me from the bus stop. There's a bus stop just by my house, but the only bus that stops there goes in one of those circuitous routes that takes forever but does include every house for miles, eventually getting to a place I can pick up another mental route, before finally arriving at the main road. Almost an hour to do a mile and a half, then 40 minutes to do the next ten miles. Anyway, it was good to see Son. He's not in a great place, but none of us are really, are we?

We went to a Spanish tapas place where the food was ludicrously expensive but delicious. I'd just had my pension paid in and it was exactly what I wanted to do - to say to Son we'll go wherever and order whatever and I'll pick up the bill. I broke my diet a bit - I had frito misto, which is bits of fish and seafood dipped in flour and fried - the flour has carbs, but fuck it. There's only so many restrictions you can make before you run right out of options. I didn't want to be inside, I didn't want to have to walk far, we hadn't booked, Son doesn't eat meat. Making it totally carb and sugar free would have been hopeless. I had a crema catalana as well, though, sugar. Never mind.

When I came back on the bus the sun was going down and it was nice to sit and watch the light on the water, rather than be squinting into it trying to drive.:

 

I might take to the bus when I can drive again - drive down the road and catch the bus the rest of the way. I walked on the beach as well - it's the quarterly mega-low tides which coincide with sunset, my favourite.

 

It's hard not to feel hard done by, with all this shit. I only managed about ten minutes because it's hard walking really and I was already tired. I stepped in a bit of wet squishy sand - like sinking sand but only a little bit - and my foot got wet which is quite pleasing - the fracture boot having a tideline with dried out sand on it.

Two miles altogether today, with the big boot on and one more week to go.

Three good things: Son; beach walk; bed, now

12:42 a.m. - 20.09.20

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

Day 194 - 25.09.20
Day 193 - 23.09.20
Day 192 - 23.09.20
Day 191 - 21.09.20
Day 190 - 20.09.20

other diaries:

u-saved-me
orangepeeler
jarofporter
stellarrobot
strawberrri
marywa
blujeans-uk
dangerspouse
ladyofjazz
SWORDFERN
narcissa
newschick
life-my-way
annanotbob
joistmonkey
manfromvenus
simeons-twin
outer-jessie
stepfordtart
ottodixless
melodymetuka
jim515
hitch-hike
floodtide
boombasticat
aliannmil
kelsi

Site Meter