annanotbob2's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Day 117

It feels as if we're building up to some kind of climax on both sides of the Atlantic. The news is just more and more awful - I can't bring myself to comment on it in detail. We all know how it is.

I'm on antibiotics now for the leg infection, by which I mean a leg which is infected rather than a place which is infected by legs. I am so cross about the sequence of events between Wednesday night when I fell and Monday afternoon when I finally got some meds, but already it's vague and lost in the fog of my malfunctioning brain. They are so short staffed and over-worked and trying to keep everyone safe at the health centre, and people are such dicks. Twice I've been there and there's been someone with no mask, kicking off, shouting the odds, like a fucking nightmare.

Then I had to queue at the chemist to pick up the prescription. They operate a one person at a time system, with the pharmacist and the assistant both with full mask and plastic face guard, and two metre spaces marked out on the pavement outside. It's such a muddle of contradictory signals we're getting but the medical and pharmacy people are still taking it very seriously - like a there's a vicious, killer virus going round.

I met with my old friend S today which we both needed. She's holed up in a village with her 94 year old mother and I'm stuck here with him, We walked a bit onto the beach then just sat for hours chatting. I wish I was still there.

I read a thing about grieving and loss that made me know this is normal, how I feel, but makes me wonder how the fuck anything gets done in this world - I mean, we've all lost people we love. We all stick on a smile and blunder about, trying not to make things worse.

12:18 a.m. - 07.07.20

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

Day 122 - 12.07.20
Day 121 - 12.07.20
Day 120 - 11.07.20
Day 119 - 10.07.20
Day 118 - 09.07.20

other diaries:

u-saved-me
orangepeeler
jarofporter
stellarrobot
strawberrri
marywa
blujeans-uk
dangerspouse
ladyofjazz
SWORDFERN
narcissa
newschick
life-my-way
annanotbob
joistmonkey
manfromvenus
simeons-twin
outer-jessie
stepfordtart
ottodixless
melodymetuka
jim515
hitch-hike
floodtide
boombasticat
aliannmil
kelsi

Site Meter