annanotbob2's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Day 94

I didn't go on the BLM protest in the end. I met my pal J the musician, and had a walk on the beach here instead. I wish I'd gone but I was scared of it getting disrupted and turning violent, but it wasn't. It was peaceful and moving according to all the posts on Facebook and according to Daughter who went on her own and threw herself into the chanting, "Say his name, George Floyd!" and felt much better for it. I met her afterwards on yet another bit of beach where we had a long, long conversation about it all and she had a long swim in the sea - too choppy for me - and came out a new woman. Looking after mind and body and spirit.

I'm angry that people say Floyd was not a good man, as if being a good man is what's required to not be killed on the street. There's a lot of very poor thinking around - that old thing that complaining about the police being violent means you don't care if people are violent to the police, I've seen that one out and about again. The absolute fucking worst though was the dickheads in London today (the BLM protest was called off once the far-right groups announced they were going to counter-protest), 'protecting' the statue of Churchill and doing the Nazi salute for fuck's fucking sake. I mean, Churchill was a mixed bag to say the least, made some terrible statements about the superiority of the white race, deliberately let untold numbers of Indians starve to death, not great at all. But on the other hand, he led us to victory in WWII and that's why these guys love him, but he led us to victory against the Nazis so what are you doing? Making Nazi salutes round his statue? It's a horrific indictment of the British education system, especially history teachers.

That's all I got for today. I've been getting to bed at 1.30 and it's too late. So now, 12.15 and I'm offski.

Night night xx

12:17 a.m. - 14.06.20

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

Day 100 - 20.06.20
Day 99 - 18.06.20
Day 98 - 18.06.20
Day 97 - 17.06.20
Day 96 - 15.06.20

other diaries:

u-saved-me
orangepeeler
jarofporter
stellarrobot
strawberrri
marywa
blujeans-uk
dangerspouse
ladyofjazz
SWORDFERN
narcissa
newschick
life-my-way
annanotbob
joistmonkey
manfromvenus
simeons-twin
outer-jessie
stepfordtart
ottodixless
melodymetuka
jim515
hitch-hike
floodtide
boombasticat
aliannmil
kelsi

Site Meter