annanotbob2's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Day 79

Honestly there's so much truly terrible stuff going on in the world it seems almost obscene to blether on about my petty grievances and affairs. People are dying and being killed and those that could help are turning their backs. I'm glad there were riots and I'm glad that cop was arrested. I'm afraid to hope that this might be a turning point, I've hoped before. I find it absolutely staggering that a cop can kill a man in broad daylight, in front of witnesses, like he has a fucking right to kill, at whim, for no reason beyond feeling like it, as far as I can tell, knowing he'll get away with it, and he almost did. And I keep seeing posts on twitter about how America is 'meant to be a beacon of light' and shite like that, as if black people have had a life of milk and honey until recently, as if the USA has ever been a fair and decent society for everyone, which it fucking hasn't, Jesus, it fucking hasn't. I am so sick of the land of the free bullshit, as if if it's said enough people will believe it and they do, they fucking do. I'm sorry, I know it's shit here too - we have people banging on about the British Empire as a source of pride - yeah, go us, we went round the world committing robbery with violence wherever we went, enslaving people, fucking up their cultures for generations to come, and we're meant to feel proud of that? Both nations need to learn that we're not exceptional in any way other than a propensity for greed, brute force and delusions of superiority. 

Sigh. Over here, meanwhile, we're being let off lockdown against the advice of the scientists, it's like school's out. I'm scared - I went for a walk with my friend J today and it's really hard to remember about the virus when there are loads of people about, behaving normally. I'm going back to staying in, I think. 

I started making some apricot jam as well, left them to sit in sugar overnight which apparently does something beneficial. 

I had more to say but I got so angry about that quote about the US being a beacon of light it all fell out of my head and now it's late again. 

1:19 a.m. - 30.05.20

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

Day 84 - 04.06.20
Day 83 - 03.06.20
Day 82 - 02.06.20
Day 81 - 01.06.20
Day 80 - 31.05.20

other diaries:

u-saved-me
orangepeeler
jarofporter
stellarrobot
strawberrri
marywa
blujeans-uk
dangerspouse
ladyofjazz
SWORDFERN
narcissa
newschick
life-my-way
annanotbob
joistmonkey
manfromvenus
simeons-twin
outer-jessie
stepfordtart
ottodixless
melodymetuka
jim515
hitch-hike
floodtide
boombasticat
aliannmil
kelsi

Site Meter