annanotbob2's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Feb 14th

I found a few good bits in the old blog, like this:

"Daughter has gone home, which is good, or it will be when she actually arrives. Just had a call from her - she's taken all my Amy Blook books, having read one of them while here, was so engrossed she missed her stop and is currently reading on a railway station platform somewhere in south east London. There's a train at 00.30 to a place where she thinks she'll be able to get a bus. Sigh. [Update - there wasn't a bus so she had to take a cab - £17, but she's home now]"

and this, which is still true:

"I just wish I had access to a skint teenager who would like to clean my house properly for minimum wage. There used to be loads of them around, for years, always prepared to wash dishes or run the hoover round for the price of a packet of fags. Bastards all grew up - now they spend their money on disposable nappies and mortgages. Sigh."

Today I went with M to the pictures to see the new David Copperfield film which is fantastic, very lively and strong. Diverse casting which has upset some people but for me reinforces the relevance of Dickens to the modern world - this is not a story just about white people, it's about people people, all of us. 

But look at that - I hadn't been to the pictures since I saw The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel when it came out, which is fucking lifetimes ago, now I've been twice in two days.

I didn't go to Friday art, I didn't walk any steps and now I'm going to bed before ten o'clock again. 

9:51 p.m. - 14.02.20

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

Feb 20th - 20.02.20
Feb 18th - 19.02.20
Feb 17th - 17.02.20
Feb 16th - 17.02.20
15th Feb - 16.02.20

other diaries:

strawberrri
orangepeeler
jarofporter
kelsi
stellarrobot
marywa
dangerspouse
blujeans-uk
ladyofjazz
SWORDFERN
narcissa
newschick
life-my-way
joistmonkey
stepfordtart
simeons-twin
annanotbob
outer-jessie
ottodixless
manfromvenus
melodymetuka
jim515
hitch-hike
floodtide
boombasticat
aliannmil

Site Meter