annanotbob2's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Sunday

OK. So, inspired by my mate D, who is doing the same, I am going to attempt to blog every day in December which will hopefully set me back onto the path of righteousness, where writing daily is as natural as breathing, and all this shit won't just pile up inside my poor broken head.

Today being Sunday, I went to yoga in the converted church - I love this yin yoga, so relaxing - I'm amazed that I'd never heard of it before this summer. Today, there was a lot of noise during the class from a craft fair on the floor below, so I wandered down after to have a look.

BD602DDC-A55B-4B1E-9813-B0C395456376

As well as the usual cutesy shite that you always find, there was some great stuff. I'm regretting not treating myself to a felted animal hat - I had an insane moment of thinking I was too old for such a thing so now I've come to my senses, I'm going to have to track that maker down.

Then I turned a corner and came across a stall with loads of beautiful jewellery that I recognised at once. Back in 1978 I'd had a pair of these earrings - mine were more clearly insecty so I called them my cockroach earrings. They shone in the light, beautifully. So beautifully that when Sammie was in A&E with concussion, back in about 1982, after falling headfirst off a top bunk onto a concrete floor, the doctor couldn't take her eyes off them as she told me that she wasn't happy with Sam's responses... She said not to worry then, tilting her head slightly, but not moving her eyes, she asked someone to fetch Dr So and So from Neurology as she thought it might be some big Latin name that meant nothing to me - she didn't even try to shield me from her words. Then she turned her blank face back, still staring at my earrings. I can remember her face and how I felt terrified and invisible and angry as I went back and sat with Sammie in the cubicle in A&E.  She was all groggy for a bit then just snapped out of it and we came home.

Seeing these today threw me straight back to that hospital bed, to that terror, to the relief as it was all over and home we went, hoppitty skippitty, as if everything would be all right forever. I spoke to the guy, who said he'd been making them for 46 years, amongst other things. I bought them:

81BC5A17-7C01-41A3-8DE8-919B1200BBA8

although these ones don't look insecty at all. Then I cried and cried and cried. In the car, on my own, like I usually do.

Apart from that I've mostly been walking and yoga-ing and doing circuits in my gym class and being quite numb.

This photo got more likes than I ever had before on the local skies page on FB, which I didn't know I cared about till they kept on coming and I did feel proud:

453AC44F-E386-497B-8BB1-4A78491EEDE5

Today I am grateful for: a little dog that I love; biscuits; a roast dinner; a blissful yoga class; a warm bed awaiting me upstairs.

Night night xxx

12:13 a.m. - 02.12.19

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

Jan 21st - 22.01.20
Jan 20th - 20.01.20
Jan19th - 20.01.20
Jan 18th - 19.01.20
Jan 16th - 17.01.20

other diaries:

strawberrri
orangepeeler
jarofporter
kelsi
stellarrobot
marywa
dangerspouse
blujeans-uk
ladyofjazz
SWORDFERN
narcissa
newschick
life-my-way
joistmonkey
stepfordtart
simeons-twin
annanotbob
outer-jessie
ottodixless
manfromvenus
melodymetuka
jim515
hitch-hike
floodtide
boombasticat
aliannmil

Site Meter