annanotbob2's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Beach, hot

Turns out it's National Writing Day and I did my drop-in writing group today so that's all good. It was OK, but as we're having a week of unprecedented blue skies and warm weather most people are on the beach and only two turned up. So with the staff member and me, we were four, which meant less time than I'd thought to read and discuss, and one of the others kind of took over when I didn't have a third activity within two seconds of needing it, and I let her and was then disappointed. But she does that - she used to have a high-powered job where everyone jumped to her command - you have to be firm with her, and I wasn't, not quickly enough anyway.

But, importantly, they all visibly enjoyed the experience of writing. We were all surprised by the ease with which incidents and memories popped to the surface and with how vividly they were expressed. It felt very intimate and safe. I was immediately asked to do this regularly, weekly, starting next week, but I said no. I've over-committed myself - lots of training coming up for the mentoring thing and the other recovery centre asked me to start a writing group there too.

I want this to be a starting point back into an active life - I know I walk and all that but you know what I mean - and have to pace myself, not take it all on at once and fuck it up.

This is my photo of the day

4F304DE4-59BC-4CAC-9CF6-4EACD201701E

 

12:25 a.m. - 28.06.18

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

Jan 21st - 22.01.20
Jan 20th - 20.01.20
Jan19th - 20.01.20
Jan 18th - 19.01.20
Jan 16th - 17.01.20

other diaries:

strawberrri
orangepeeler
jarofporter
kelsi
stellarrobot
marywa
dangerspouse
blujeans-uk
ladyofjazz
SWORDFERN
narcissa
newschick
life-my-way
joistmonkey
stepfordtart
simeons-twin
annanotbob
outer-jessie
ottodixless
manfromvenus
melodymetuka
jim515
hitch-hike
floodtide
boombasticat
aliannmil

Site Meter