annanotbob2's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Winter


  1. I forgot to say yesterday that I bought tickets to see the all-male version of Swan Lake, going back out on another short tour. I've never seen a ballet and this is the one I was always sad to have missed. A post came up on facebook that it was on and I leapt straight into the queue and got myself some tickets, like a proper decisive person. Not till December, so hope I don't forget...

  2. The snow came, a whole two inches. Southern England ground to a halt! I feel a bit embarrassed, having seen Swordfern shoveling several feet of snow, which she describes as a regular occurrence and knowing people in several brutal states in the US, who go about their lives in sub-zero temperatures with snow thick on the ground for months on end. But then I remember we haven't had snow that settled since 2010, so we're allowed to get our knickers in a twist. It's all gone now.snow

  3. There were only two of us service users at the recovery centre today - we're an anxious sub-group, to be sure. My road was clear when I left home - it's a minor residential lane, so I knew the bigger roads would be fine and off I went. It was a bit surprising to find only one other person though - usually there's about thirty, spread around the different activities. Still, we had the art tutor to ourselves and I cracked on with my beach thingyworkinprogress I was working too quickly and not standing back and looking enough, because it's not creating the effect I wanted, which is a graded movement from natural beach elements, like pebbles and shells, through to plastic. I mean, that is what's there but it's not immediately apparent and it's also not very visually pleasing. So I'm going to keep at it for a bit, filling in all the gaps, taking stuff off and rearranging it, fannying about. I have till March 9th, so plenty of time. Need more glue sticks though.

  4. Back in 2010 I bought these monkey boots as I had no footwear with decent grip for walking on ice:monkeyboots You can see they're still as good as new because I've never worn them before today. I almost sold them at one point, but I'm glad I kept them though I hate having my feet confined and my ankles constrained.

  5. I think my heart is truly broken, my spirit crushed. I am so full of sorrow it wells up and overflows all around me, covering my whole life with sadness. Sometimes it feels familiar and comfortable, but then I remember what a carefree, lighthearted soul I used to be and that makes me sadder still. But, you know, I'm still here, going through the motions. Dancing tomorrow. Could be worse - I could be unable to get myself dressed at all.


Today I am grateful for: the clear roads enabling me to get to art; YD giving me helpful comments on the collage; having those monkey boots when the ice covered the footpaths; loads of episodes of Portrait Painter of the Year to watch - I'm up to 2014, hardly started; a home to live in

Keep warm and safe and thanks for reading xx

12:21 a.m. - 28.02.18

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

Jan 21st - 22.01.20
Jan 20th - 20.01.20
Jan19th - 20.01.20
Jan 18th - 19.01.20
Jan 16th - 17.01.20

other diaries:

strawberrri
orangepeeler
jarofporter
kelsi
stellarrobot
marywa
dangerspouse
blujeans-uk
ladyofjazz
SWORDFERN
narcissa
newschick
life-my-way
joistmonkey
stepfordtart
simeons-twin
annanotbob
outer-jessie
ottodixless
manfromvenus
melodymetuka
jim515
hitch-hike
floodtide
boombasticat
aliannmil

Site Meter