annanotbob2's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Dawg


  1. It was just fab when Younger Daughter came round today and we watched some RuPaul's Allstars. I've been trying to think of a way to articulate what it is I love about Drag Race, but I have no idea. I would never have watched it if YD hadn't virtually forced me to one day and within about fifteen minutes I got it. Knowing there's this series of Allstars that I haven't watched feels so comforting. When Chi Chi Devayne came on and started speaking YD and I both said, simultaneously, "Aw, I love Chi Chi!" thereby reminding each other that we have some kind of deep connection in our response to weird shit. Not that Chi Chi or RuPaul are weird, but it's odd the things we see the same way. In case you aren't familiar with their work, here's a short clip:


https://youtu.be/WBNkECuwa6A

2. Today has been better, probably because I spent time with both my daughters. Not together, alas, but still. ED and I did our usual walk along the prom, with the intention of sitting down somewhere for a story, but out of nowhere there was a brief hailstorm - not enough to make us too wet - I was able to brush all the hailstones off ED - but it made all the fucking benches wet. We went in a cafe but it was far too noisy and indeed too hot for her, all bundled up as she was against the cold. She kept making little noises today that sounded as if she was in pain, but her face was smiley, no down-turned mouth or furrowed brow and I didn't know what to think. Progress was very slow as I kept stopping and coming round the chair to look at her face and then she looked so lovely I had to keep kissing her, my darling girl. She's 39 and has barely a wrinkle, just looks like a little scrummy poppet, with a hint of mischief about her expression so that I have to kiss her. No one at the care home knew what to make of the noises either - maybe she just rediscovered how to make sounds, they were tiny, little, grunty squeaks, I kept flipping in and out of panic about them, but her face told me it was OK, no need for a doctor.

3. I let Shirley off the lead in the care home and she scarpered straight to ED's room - she knows her way now. We were faffing about for a while getting ED dressed, so she wandered off and I found her in M's room where she was being made very welcome. She did the same later, I found her curled up on M's lap. His key worker was thrilled - said M really loves dogs and the change in his expression as she settled down on him was brilliant. I'm so pleased she's welcome there - they all love her, residents and staff alike, and she loves them. She's not remotely phased by the chairs or by the wild yells and cries that sometimes make me feel fucking jittery.

4. I don't think I have any more today. Ummm. Here's today's sundown pic:IMG_5485

5. Nah, that's me done.

 

12:56 a.m. - 12.02.18

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

Jan 21st - 22.01.20
Jan 20th - 20.01.20
Jan19th - 20.01.20
Jan 18th - 19.01.20
Jan 16th - 17.01.20

other diaries:

strawberrri
orangepeeler
jarofporter
kelsi
stellarrobot
marywa
dangerspouse
blujeans-uk
ladyofjazz
SWORDFERN
narcissa
newschick
life-my-way
joistmonkey
stepfordtart
simeons-twin
annanotbob
outer-jessie
ottodixless
manfromvenus
melodymetuka
jim515
hitch-hike
floodtide
boombasticat
aliannmil

Site Meter