annanotbob2's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

RIP


  1. Paula died today, after about a year of cancer. I'm so sad that she didn't make it, sad that she didn't get to walk away from the job that exhausted and infuriated her and have some time to just be, sad that her sister has lost her sister. Sad that many of us have lost a friend, that I never got to meet her face to face, that I won't be able to go to her funeral and pay my respects alongside other people who love and miss her, sad that we'll never go geocaching together. Just sad.

  2. My fondest memory was the night I spent messaging to and fro with her from Glastonbury festival. I'd recently moved my daughter to a care home near me, and here I was, in a tent in the rain, unable to relax as I could only think of my girl in this strange place. Paula and I chatted back and forth for hours, from that muddy field to sunny San Diego. She was kind and clever and funny and knew that I needed help and what sort of help I needed.

  3. She also had bizarre competitions where people submitted photos to her blog  of themselves with weird stuff on their (OK, our) heads - I can't remember it clearly but Angela Lansbury came into it somehow.

  4. She shared a birthday and a friendship with Barb, awittykitty, and also with Sarah, stepfordtart, (not a birthday, just friendship), both of whom died of cancer. They were all funny, clever, kind and unique. I don't know how it goes - none of us do - but I hope they're getting together somewhere. I hope they're there to show her the ropes. It makes the thought of dying less scary, knowing all these great women have already done it. Not yet though.

  5. I'll miss you Paula. I've missed you already, as you slid away. God bless.


 

12:06 a.m. - 05.02.18

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

Jan 21st - 22.01.20
Jan 20th - 20.01.20
Jan19th - 20.01.20
Jan 18th - 19.01.20
Jan 16th - 17.01.20

other diaries:

strawberrri
orangepeeler
jarofporter
kelsi
stellarrobot
marywa
dangerspouse
blujeans-uk
ladyofjazz
SWORDFERN
narcissa
newschick
life-my-way
joistmonkey
stepfordtart
simeons-twin
annanotbob
outer-jessie
ottodixless
manfromvenus
melodymetuka
jim515
hitch-hike
floodtide
boombasticat
aliannmil

Site Meter