annanotbob2's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Tired

I'm just knackered, though in quite a good way. Camping was brilliant - I managed to walk up to the top of the tor - a massive fucking achievement considering I needed a stick to walk on level ground this time last year. This is the tor from quite close up - it stands right up out of the landscape - it's a natural feature and does have some weird quality, kind of mysticalIMG_1435

 

I always take a photo of it from the festival which is actually about ten miles away - ah go on then, here's one from last year:

IMG_0387

To be honest, I freaked out on the last bit going up, as there was nothing there to my left, just air and a big drop and a massive fucking wind. I was at the back of the group, with L, who is also old and a therapist. "Oh yes," he said, "It's the fear. But look at all the people, young and old and children - no one ever fell off the hill, it's just the fear." So I dragged myself up the last bit and put on a smile.

IMG_1444

So I made it, in my flip-flops, six mile round trip from our tent to the top and back.

But now I must go to bed. The girl is OK, though I am getting mixed messages from staff so I'm going to demand a doctor's visit. One said, best not plan a birthday party too far ahead, with only two weeks to go till birthday, and another is saying let's get tickets for a gig in October/November. I can't be doing with hope, hope is a cunt that kicks you when you're down.

I am grateful for: a holiday; having fun with Younger daughter; YD doing all the driving; a swim in a calm sea yesterday evening when I got back; a warm bed on a chilly night

 

Laters xxx

12:48 a.m. - 16.08.17

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

Jan 21st - 22.01.20
Jan 20th - 20.01.20
Jan19th - 20.01.20
Jan 18th - 19.01.20
Jan 16th - 17.01.20

other diaries:

strawberrri
orangepeeler
jarofporter
kelsi
stellarrobot
marywa
dangerspouse
blujeans-uk
ladyofjazz
SWORDFERN
narcissa
newschick
life-my-way
joistmonkey
stepfordtart
simeons-twin
annanotbob
outer-jessie
ottodixless
manfromvenus
melodymetuka
jim515
hitch-hike
floodtide
boombasticat
aliannmil

Site Meter