annanotbob2's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Stunned

So. The hospice people didn't come to see Sam again - I wrote that because we were going to ask them to come and they always have in the past when we've asked them, but it turns out that when she was discharged from the hospice, back in early June, the discharge letter went astray and we (mostly me and N the manager) have been putting two and two together and making six. I'm still confused, but apparently:


  •  she's been on a daily prophylactic antibiotic to ward off urinary tract infections, which has been working - the infection she did have wasn't a uti, we just assumed it was - me and N are both a bit prone to thinking we've amassed more medical knowledge than we have.

  • Her MS has progressed and as she's also had two bouts of sepsis, her system is too weak for her to be able to have a general anaesthetic again

  • they anticipate either the antibiotic will stop working after a time, quite a decent time, and she will get a uti, or

  • she may get a chest infection which will develop into pneumonia. But

  • she is strong and has no history of chest infections, hardly ever gets a cold and

  • has almost perfect nutrition, via the stuff that goes in her feeding tube, all full of vitamins and minerals etc, and she is always well hydrated, and all that makes a big difference.


The conclusion is, she is still not in great shape, being a person with MS and kidney stones, but she is nowhere near actively dying. Fucking hell - the hospice didn't know we thought she was, we didn't know they thought she wasn't.

There's been more :

like grandson's girlfriend's drink being spiked and me going on a mission to fetch them back, just after I pressed 'post' on my last update - lurching round the city centre at 2 in the morning. All well now, but scary for a while.

like Younger Daughter doing her back in and being laid up and needing help fetching drugs and food and all that malarkey.

like other stuff as well, but fuck it

I tell you, I remember that palmist who took one look at my palm back in the 1970s and said, "Christ, you'll never be bored, that's for sure," and I want to smack her in the gob as if it's her fault but instead I'll go to bed and tomorrow I'll go to yoga and then we are going to start trying to ease my Sam back into a bit of life rather than just waiting for death.

She grinned when I told her we'd thought she was dying but we'd been misinformed.

See ya later xx

12:14 a.m. - 20.07.17

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

Jan 21st - 22.01.20
Jan 20th - 20.01.20
Jan19th - 20.01.20
Jan 18th - 19.01.20
Jan 16th - 17.01.20

other diaries:

strawberrri
orangepeeler
jarofporter
kelsi
stellarrobot
marywa
dangerspouse
blujeans-uk
ladyofjazz
SWORDFERN
narcissa
newschick
life-my-way
joistmonkey
stepfordtart
simeons-twin
annanotbob
outer-jessie
ottodixless
manfromvenus
melodymetuka
jim515
hitch-hike
floodtide
boombasticat
aliannmil

Site Meter