annanotbob2's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Sunday story

I'm listening to the Folk Awards on BBC4 as I write - Ry Cooder just got a lifetime achievement award - how have I forgotten that I love his music? They had Al Stewart just now - his voice seems all wrong coming out of that face - what's that about? What weird preconception makes me feel that way? Have I created some rules about faces and voices that I hadn't even noticed until this old geezer burst into 'On the Border'

[youtube https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vCslASOabUI&w=560&h=315]

Anyway.

I'm not going to the trial session in the 0xfam shop tomorrow because they were too rude and I'm too flaky right now to be around rude people. Fuck 'em.

We did loads of gardening this weekend - the spring sort-out - then I took my ED out with Sis and Niece and the Bad Babies (not really bad and no longer babies) and then got all choked up at Sis driving off with her lot, all lively and chatty while I took my girl back into the care home. Sometimes my envy of people whose families are all well is overwhelming - unfair in the case of Sis, as bro with the MND is her bro too, but she has her daughters - ach, it's all bollocks isn't it - no one said it was going to be fair. So in order to avert drowning in a lake of self-pity I baked some scones and had a cream tea.

Pics:

I planted out the tomatoes in the greenhouse and rigged up a cat-proof screen door out of found fishing net (known as ghostnet in the beach-cleaning world) to keep the neighbours' cats out:

IMG_8914

Finally got the flags up - the yellow one will have to move as when the wind blows the other way it rubs up against the philadelphus

 

IMG_8944

 

Us on the pier:

IMG_8962

Scones - just SR flour, butter rubbed in, then I divided the mixture, half had dried fruit and sugar, the other had mustard powder, paprika and grated cheese. I got in a muddle because I'd halved the recipe as Bloke won't eat them (they don't keep at all well), then halved it again, then put too much milk in then thought fuck it and rolled them out and bunged them in the oven anyway:

IMG_8964

So they didn't rise as much as they might have done:

IMG_8965

But were still delicious (the sweet ones), with creme fraiche and blackcurrant jam and a cup of coffee (don't drink tea) in the last mother's day gift ED chose for me with her functioning mind:

IMG_8966

 

When I checked my pedometer I was half a mile short so I went for a lap of the rec round the corner. Last night there had been a bunch of lads sitting where all this mess is. I almost said, "Hey, let's just pick all this crap up and put it in the bin, shall we guys?"

IMG_8977

but I chickened out. Instead I did it myself tonight, though if I do that kind of thing again I shall take the before and after pictures from the same viewpoint

IMG_8978

 

Then we watched Line of Duty which is, frankly, too complex for me right now but still gripping.

 

I am grateful for: bloke cooking a delicious dinner; another warm day; knee getting better; family, no matter how much I envy them, I'm also glad for them; and a garden that no longer feels oppressive with the weight of looming tasks - look at the jobs crossed off this list - I could cross off 'dig by fence' too ;

IMG_8932

 

Sleep tight, dear friends, keep well, have a good week xxx

12:04 a.m. - 10.04.17

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

Jan 21st - 22.01.20
Jan 20th - 20.01.20
Jan19th - 20.01.20
Jan 18th - 19.01.20
Jan 16th - 17.01.20

other diaries:

strawberrri
orangepeeler
jarofporter
kelsi
stellarrobot
marywa
dangerspouse
blujeans-uk
ladyofjazz
SWORDFERN
narcissa
newschick
life-my-way
joistmonkey
stepfordtart
simeons-twin
annanotbob
outer-jessie
ottodixless
manfromvenus
melodymetuka
jim515
hitch-hike
floodtide
boombasticat
aliannmil

Site Meter