annanotbob2's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Journaling

I went to a fantastic workshop today, Journaling for Recovery, run with easy competence by my pal B, from Friday art group. I stayed almost all day - first time I've managed that for literally years. Yay - go me etc. It reinforced my belief that writing about my shit is a Good Thing, even if (especially if?) no one reads it. It was run by the Recovery College so we were all recoverers and many had good accounts of the benefits of regular writing, in all kinds of ways I hadn't thought of.

For example, from the list of suggestions, I had a go at writing in the third person about myself and fucking hell, that was powerfully different and revealing. I had planned to write that way tonight but I'm knackered, too knackered for new initiatives, but I feel fired up by a commitment to write every day again. Whether I have anything to say or not. I am kind of tempted by the idea of paper and pen, for the freedom - for the possibilities of including art and diagrams and all kinds of stuff that probably are possible on a computer but only for people with real IT skills. I still haven't worked out how to get my shit off my phone onto this icloud, so I'm not about to make a spider diagram of what I'm trying to cope with right now right now.  I love my blog though. And I love my diaryland blog - I write But if you read me on d'land, I'm also at https://annanotbob.wordpress.com/where we can actually have a dialogue in a comments box - I know, kind of futuristic, but hey, give it a go, it's what all the kids are doing these days...

We were supplied with little books to work in and had half an hour to decorate them, which was a nice soothing interlude.

IMG_8688

 

I did mine upside down, sadly, but I'll just start again at the back - I can't even explain that properly. I had to take myself for a sustaining cream tea on the way back to the car:

IMG_8689

so delicious, but only one scone...

Here's a pic of my latest work in progress, at the Tuesday art group. I'm leaving it big because it's a big canvas:

IMG_8651

 

It's meant to be the beach and the pier and the sea. I put the sea defences on first and they're miles too feeble for the weight of the beach and sea so I went out in search of more stuff and had a go at home, practising:

IMG_8695

Just this bit, actually:

IMG_8695a

 

In the workshop B also talked about gratitudes and handed out a list of different ways of 'journalling' gratitude. So for a change, five ways I am grateful for my body:


  1. it is big and strong

  2. it has lasted 62 years so far

  3. it has borne me three wonderful children

  4. it has legs that can walk three miles every day come rain or shine, wind or something else that's not wind

  5. it is an accepting body, not fussy about food, not allergic to things.


It's been a good body to live in, so far. Fingers crossed for the next thirty years, eh.

Sleep tight, dear friends. Thanks for reading.

12:18 a.m. - 30.03.17

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

Jan 21st - 22.01.20
Jan 20th - 20.01.20
Jan19th - 20.01.20
Jan 18th - 19.01.20
Jan 16th - 17.01.20

other diaries:

strawberrri
orangepeeler
jarofporter
kelsi
stellarrobot
marywa
dangerspouse
blujeans-uk
ladyofjazz
SWORDFERN
narcissa
newschick
life-my-way
joistmonkey
stepfordtart
simeons-twin
annanotbob
outer-jessie
ottodixless
manfromvenus
melodymetuka
jim515
hitch-hike
floodtide
boombasticat
aliannmil

Site Meter