annanotbob2's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Tax, man

I had my car impounded! Honestly, the police just pulled me over, pointed out that I hadn't paid road tax since August and demanded my keys, there and then. I'm sure you'll be amazed to hear that I broke down and cried like a baby, for quite a long, embarrassing time, by the side of the road, in my old home town, during the rush hour as the traffic crawled slowly past.  The policewoman was kind and apologetic, but she'd put my reg into her computer as they'd dragged along behind me in the queue and now it was a done deal - no excuses permitted. Fucking fuck.

 

I can't find the log book anywhere, or the MOT certificate, though it must have one or that would have been flagged up too, so that has driven me mental this evening. I've never properly unpacked since moving in here - I could put my hand on anything at the last two places I lived, but here - gah. I hate it here, that's the problem. Not only do I not want to commit to it, but I can't bear to be here so I'm out all day every day until I'm knackered, then I come home, eat, watch telly, sleep and fuck off again. Which is no way to carry on really. Nothing has been given a place, other than just there, for now.

 

So now I'm off to bed as I have to be up at the crack of dawn to be there at the depot to get the car out before Bloke and his bank card go to work.

 

And while I turned over every pile of paper in the house, I kept coming across funeral orders of service. I've been here less than two years and I've been to four funerals. Mike, my friends D and J's dad, whose house I lived in back in the late 70s - early 80s, who I loved like a second, more accepting father of my own, whose funeral I was privileged to lead. Stepfordtart, our dear Stepfie, whose death still shocks me, as she goes on not being there. Sue, Mike's partner, mother of his third and youngest daughter, now an orphan at far too young an age. And Martin, the husband of a dear friend. And there was Reenie too - she was in Tennessee so attending her funeral wasn't an option, though I would've if I could've and her death was a big loss to me (and to many others, of course). May they all be resting in peace. It was Barb, (wittykitty)'s birthday yesterday - if there is an afterlife I'd like to think of her and Stepfie hanging out, but if there is one I don't expect that's how it works.

 

Pics:

Still trying to get those city rooftops:

img_7610

 

walking down by the canal in the harbour:

img_7630a

 

Stuff off the beach

 

img_7645

 

today, just before I lost the car:

img_7679

 

I have walked 160 miles now.

 

I am grateful for: Bloke, bailing me out yet again; a sunny day; a long chat with M on the phone; art tomorrow if I can sort out the car stuff; early night now, with sleeping pills

 

xxx

11:47 p.m. - 13.02.17

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

Jan 21st - 22.01.20
Jan 20th - 20.01.20
Jan19th - 20.01.20
Jan 18th - 19.01.20
Jan 16th - 17.01.20

other diaries:

strawberrri
orangepeeler
jarofporter
kelsi
stellarrobot
marywa
dangerspouse
blujeans-uk
ladyofjazz
SWORDFERN
narcissa
newschick
life-my-way
joistmonkey
stepfordtart
simeons-twin
annanotbob
outer-jessie
ottodixless
manfromvenus
melodymetuka
jim515
hitch-hike
floodtide
boombasticat
aliannmil

Site Meter