annanotbob2's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

-

This photo has been preying on my mind since I first saw it a few weeks ago on the #2minutebeachclean thread on instagram (posted by @bristolboatman, to give credit where it's due). Found in Bristol during a big beach clean there. When was it, I hear you ask, that Marathons became Snickers? 1990. 19 fucking 90. This is why I've become hooked on the beach clean and why I recommend it to everyone I see.

marathon

 

We took ED out for a walk today - I won't be able to tomorrow and then it's the op on Tuesday, and then... We parked up on the end of the pier where a small boy near us started trying to poke some litter through the slats of the pier. His parents intervened and I jumped in before I could stop myself, offering the #2minutebeachclean bag that was hanging on the back of the wheelchair, half full of rope and stuff from a preliminary sweep.

IMG_7073a.JPG

I told them about the Marathon wrapper and we were off, chatting about the state of the planet, especially the oceans. So. I'm glad I've finally found something I can do to contribute in a tiny way to making things better, rather than just moaning a lot and re-tweeting/sharing posts to people who probably already agree with me.

 

I'm half-watching Trainspotting while I'm writing - man I'd forgotten what a visceral film that is. Shocking. I'm kind of looking forward to seeing Trainspotting 2 as it's not going to be just a more-of-the-same sequel, but revisiting the surviving characters in middle age. I know loads of people who are ex-heroin addicts, who've gone on to lead professional lives indistinguishable from anyone else's. But they almost all got out pretty quick, truth be told. Those who were more committed all succumbed in the end to a hit of suddenly pure, unadulterated gear and died of overdoses. Shocking. But that was all long, long ago, decades ago. Begbie though, Jeez.

Tired and scared and trying not to be, that's me tonight.

 

I am grateful for: the walking challenge - over 80 miles walked this year so far; having my girl close by; my other girl doing good, gaining in confidence; almost there with the op, just another day to get through; fleecy blankets.

 

Laters peeps, hope you are all well xx

12:19 a.m. - 23.01.17

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

Jan 21st - 22.01.20
Jan 20th - 20.01.20
Jan19th - 20.01.20
Jan 18th - 19.01.20
Jan 16th - 17.01.20

other diaries:

strawberrri
orangepeeler
jarofporter
kelsi
stellarrobot
marywa
dangerspouse
blujeans-uk
ladyofjazz
SWORDFERN
narcissa
newschick
life-my-way
joistmonkey
stepfordtart
simeons-twin
annanotbob
outer-jessie
ottodixless
manfromvenus
melodymetuka
jim515
hitch-hike
floodtide
boombasticat
aliannmil

Site Meter