annanotbob2's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

A bit grumpy

Gah. Just lost an entry with the cake recipe and cannot be arsed to do it again, especially as I realised you probably don't have mincemeat in America and that's the key ingredient that makes it easy instead of a big fucking palaver. I noticed when I was typing it up that I'd misread the oven temp, which is why the one I made had too thick a 'crust' for my taste, though it was OK dunked in a cup of ginger tea. A quarter of it got eaten today up at the allotment, in between doing more towards getting the polytunnel finished.

What a bloody mission this has become. Sigh. It can't be helped - both me and SDig are cack-handed and spatially incompetent; Bloke's mate (who's helping us), is old and knackered; and work can only be done when it's neither pissing down with rain nor blowing up a storm. So no, it wasn't completed by the end of August and although there's only about one afternoon's work left, I've given up thinking about it ever being done.

But it was grand to be out in the air all day. While the others were titting about with the base plate (or whatever), I kept out of the way at the top of the site, cutting down weeds and piling them up to compost. Very slowly, with lots of sitting down for another go on the spliff, and being very careful to keep my gob shut when Bloke's mate says stuff that would normally have me walking away. He's the first close pal Bloke's had in years - they do the birdwatching and the nature photography and the coke and watching Formula 1, and whilst I am pleased for him and all that, this mate is such a tedious, unreconstructed, old fuckwit, I can hardly bear being in the same field as him.

He likes turning things into sexist, sexual innuendo, which SDig and TinyM find hilarious, especially in combination with my appalled response, the fuckers. Bloke would be joining in if I wasn't there, I'm almost certain as he keeps himself very busy and well out of all this. I'm not saying I disapprove of Matey's behaviour, it's a more weary feeling than that and none of it would matter if it weren't for the fact that Bloke and I are eventually going to grow even more old and grumpy together under the same roof, which will mean seeing more of Mr potty-mouth. So today I tried and I did quite well but I had to come and moan about it here.

Grateful for: the firepot - quick and easy to get a fire going, even in a wind and so good to have a source of heat to come and stand by every now and then; lots of stuff to burn; leftover stew for dinner; Bob not reacting to the fireworks; Bloke, the old git.

Sweet dreams xxx

11:53 p.m. - 03.11.12

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

Jan 21st - 22.01.20
Jan 20th - 20.01.20
Jan19th - 20.01.20
Jan 18th - 19.01.20
Jan 16th - 17.01.20

other diaries:

strawberrri
orangepeeler
jarofporter
kelsi
stellarrobot
marywa
dangerspouse
blujeans-uk
ladyofjazz
SWORDFERN
narcissa
newschick
life-my-way
joistmonkey
stepfordtart
simeons-twin
annanotbob
outer-jessie
ottodixless
manfromvenus
melodymetuka
jim515
hitch-hike
floodtide
boombasticat
aliannmil

Site Meter