annanotbob2's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Driving in my car

Up at ED's. They were all in bed and asleep when we arrived at ten. Lazy fuckers. I know - no one gets called lazy for going to bed early, but I do if I get up late. Fancy being in bed this early! They're missing half the night! Hmph.

Anyway, it's mainly been driving today, which was fine once I got going. Tomorrow I have a mission - to deliver my grandson at the gate of an Oxford college to participate in one of their attempts to thwart claims of elitism, by letting young oiks through the magic portals for a few hours.

I have mixed feelings about it all - I don't think a day there will be enough to counteract the low expectations of his current (secondary modern) school, even with lunch in halls. Which I do believe is very Harry Potter-ish, with the long wooden tables and all. Still, I'm not knocking the school. Its pastoral team has got GS tucked right under their wing and that's what matters right now. If we can steer him safely through adolescence and out the other side, he can get educated then, if he wants to. Ach, I could rant but I won't. And maybe his imagination will be caught, like Jude the Obscure, by the view of the spires gleaming in the distance across the fields... Though of course Jude was fictional and they hadn't built the M40.

Can't believe I'm sitting here on her sofa and haven't even seen ED. If it weren't for SIL, I'd've gone in and given her a kiss, but that would be a gross invasion of his privacy - to walk in on him in his bed - so I haven't as I'm playing nice.

My real mother's grave is in Oxford. I didn't know this until I was 40 and finally plucked up courage to ask my dad. I visited it once, soon after, with Bloke. On our way to somewhere else. I've just looked and there are several cemeteries in the city. Bloke will remember which one - he's a bloke. I shall email him now.

Grateful for: my little car, sweet as a nut; GS being quite chilled; the good old airbed; sleeping pills; fleecy blanket

Night night xxx

11:06 p.m. - 30.10.12

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

Jan 21st - 22.01.20
Jan 20th - 20.01.20
Jan19th - 20.01.20
Jan 18th - 19.01.20
Jan 16th - 17.01.20

other diaries:

strawberrri
orangepeeler
jarofporter
kelsi
stellarrobot
marywa
dangerspouse
blujeans-uk
ladyofjazz
SWORDFERN
narcissa
newschick
life-my-way
joistmonkey
stepfordtart
simeons-twin
annanotbob
outer-jessie
ottodixless
manfromvenus
melodymetuka
jim515
hitch-hike
floodtide
boombasticat
aliannmil

Site Meter