annanotbob2's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

A Big Think

I think I have finally got to the bottom of my dilemma over medications and side effects. It's about risk. To be honest, the exact figures I've been quoted have vanished in a haze of medical jargon, but I think it boils down to this.

1. If I don't take statins, I am at a 20% risk of having heart shit going on. This is a risk I am not advised to take.

2. If I take the new anti-depressant, I am at a 20% risk of having very unpleasant side effects. I am advised that this is a risk not worth worrying about.

3. I have discovered that the statin I took for about two years has the side effect of exhaustion in 40% of women,

http://www.telegraph.co.uk/health/healthnews/9325306/Statins-cause-fatigue-and-should-be-prescribed-with-care.html

(and I was taking twice the dose mentioned here)

and although I have had serious exhaustion (for around two years funnily enough), the medics are reluctant to accept the link. My GP may be OK - I'm not seeing her till next week.

My conclusion is that they can take their medication and shove it up their collective arse. I will continue to reduce the citalipram over the next few weeks and then stop altogether as I haven't been able to discern any tangible benefits since taking them. No, I don't know how much worse I'll be without them, but now, instead of being cowed by that thought into continuing, I'm ready to find out what a med-free life will be like.

I think it's my best chance of getting some energy back. Having suffered side effects once, I'm not interested in having the causes of my health problems complicated in this way.

I have squeezed my brain so hard to follow the information and draw these conclusions.

I may never think again.

1:24 a.m. - 27.09.12

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

Jan 21st - 22.01.20
Jan 20th - 20.01.20
Jan19th - 20.01.20
Jan 18th - 19.01.20
Jan 16th - 17.01.20

other diaries:

strawberrri
orangepeeler
jarofporter
kelsi
stellarrobot
marywa
dangerspouse
blujeans-uk
ladyofjazz
SWORDFERN
narcissa
newschick
life-my-way
joistmonkey
stepfordtart
simeons-twin
annanotbob
outer-jessie
ottodixless
manfromvenus
melodymetuka
jim515
hitch-hike
floodtide
boombasticat
aliannmil

Site Meter