annanotbob2's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Some people say I'm bonkers but I just think I'm free

Today was another good 'un (woo hoo!), spent with my son up in London. D'you know, I love him SO MUCH. I know having me as a mother has been a mixed blessing - having not been mothered myself I've had to make it up as I go along and going bonkers when they were teenagers made it worse - but my kids are such sound, decent people that I feel very proud (when I remember to).

We mooched about round Camden Lock, which is a bit like here only more so. He ate a whole deep-fried Mars bar without giving me a bite to try as I was distracted by a churros stall. It looked disgusting, I must say. The Mars bar, not the churros, they looked great but the queue was too long.

He's a great talker, the boy, and likes playing devil's advocate to give me a push and make sure I really do believe what I'm saying which is much more fun that sitting around agreeing with each other. Though we did agree that racism would be easier to dispel if we stopped referring to people as black and white (How did this ever come to be? They are such massively loaded words with so many connotations of good/evil etc), and used the more accurate and less emotive brown and pink, and that feminism's project of gender equality also needs renaming. Shame that humanism has already been taken.

All good stuff.

12:28 a.m. - 23.09.12

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

Jan 21st - 22.01.20
Jan 20th - 20.01.20
Jan19th - 20.01.20
Jan 18th - 19.01.20
Jan 16th - 17.01.20

other diaries:

strawberrri
orangepeeler
jarofporter
kelsi
stellarrobot
marywa
dangerspouse
blujeans-uk
ladyofjazz
SWORDFERN
narcissa
newschick
life-my-way
joistmonkey
stepfordtart
simeons-twin
annanotbob
outer-jessie
ottodixless
manfromvenus
melodymetuka
jim515
hitch-hike
floodtide
boombasticat
aliannmil

Site Meter