annanotbob2's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Sweet child of mine

Here I am, tucked up in bed at Younger Daughter's, all snug and cosy. I didn't really want to come away again so soon, or do the drive, but now that I'm here it feels good.

It's her birthday tomorrow, which means that on this day 29 years ago, I had whizzed round the flat we lived in, cleaning like a demon, everywhere, everything, cooked a big pot of stew then painted the shed and the wall in the garden. It was only on the third time round that I recognised this bizarre flurry of behaviour as a prelude to labour.

I love that there's a framed photo of me on the wall, taken by YD at the Big Chill - a cropped version of this:

reminding me that we are on the same wavelength, me and her. We'd driven for hours to get to this festival, to see Leonard Cohen, it was raining, we'd had to drag a ridiculous amount of gear a ridiculous distance, and then I'd fallen off the edge of some decking and fucked my leg up. There was only one solution - to achieve a perfect state of drunkenness and maintain it from morning to night, supplemented with as many joints as we could be arsed to roll. We found the moustaches just lying on the grass and actually now is the first time I've even considered the hygiene aspect, and quite rightly so. It was brilliant. YD is brilliant - she's in that kind of mood at the moment, planning what we're going to do over the next few days.

Driving up here was cool - the trees have just burst into leaf, which has to be the very best of times. The colours make my heart sing, and fill me with the possibilities of new beginnings, coming through hard times into the sun, all that kind of malarkey. Marvellous. I love living in a place that has seasons, especially spring.

12:18 a.m. - 03.05.12

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

Jan 21st - 22.01.20
Jan 20th - 20.01.20
Jan19th - 20.01.20
Jan 18th - 19.01.20
Jan 16th - 17.01.20

other diaries:

strawberrri
orangepeeler
jarofporter
kelsi
stellarrobot
marywa
dangerspouse
blujeans-uk
ladyofjazz
SWORDFERN
narcissa
newschick
life-my-way
joistmonkey
stepfordtart
simeons-twin
annanotbob
outer-jessie
ottodixless
manfromvenus
melodymetuka
jim515
hitch-hike
floodtide
boombasticat
aliannmil

Site Meter