annanotbob2's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Throw those curtains wide

There was a power cut here last night, just my place and the streetlight outside. Not even downstairs, or across the hall, just this flat. I'd just had a big spliff, which didn't help, and fuck knows where the big torch (must find it), so there was a fair amount of stumbling around before I was tucked up in bed, reading by candlelight. Bob burnt herself - she is a heat-seeking creature with no concept of too close - but otherwise it was pretty cool, how people must have lived when the house was built. Then it all came back on at about one in the morning - I thought I'd turned everything off, but I'd forgotten the tv, which suddenly started bellowing, waking me and probably both upstairs and downstairs neighbours.

Had acupuncture today. She was very pleased with me - at last I'm pacing myself so that the slow but steady strengthening has continued through this last challenge. I am beyond thrilled to hear this - I've been pinning all my hopes on this being a blip (a fucking long blip, but a blip nonetheless), and that I'll soon come bursting back ready for the next stage of my life. Yee haw etc.

She's Italian by birth, my acupuncturist, and bilingual, so able to provide me with my first question when I arrive in Pisa on Monday: 'Dove la stazione, per favore?' Oh man, so exciting. I bought a tiny suitcase on the way home - small enough to be hand luggage - and an umbrella as the forecast was for rain, but I just looked again and the forecast is changing to at least some days of sun. The reality of course is that they don't know, what the weather will be - it's all just best guess based on how it is now. Sun would be nice, for at least some of the time, but I'm not really that bothered.

I'm probably going to go technology free. No phone (well, it doesn't work abroad, I don't think, and I'm not going to sort it out), and no laptop. I shall phone ED from a call box to tell her I've arrived safely, but otherwise I'm off for the week, like holidays used to be. Bloody hell, people used to set off overland to India and no one would hear a thing till they came back, eighteen months, two years later - I went to South America myself, for six months with ED when she was just a year old.. well, I could go on, but you get the point. Bloke has been doing good parenting recently, with ED in particular (he's not my kids' biological father, but he's the one they call Dad), so she'll call him.

Tomorrow I'm going to buy some nice cheap exercise books and while Bluey does her classes I will sit and write in cafes in medieval piazzas, watching the world go by, sketching a bit, reading the new Anne Tyler I've saved especially...

Grateful for: being me, living a lucky life, with friends and love and a beautiful home and a manky, yowling cat.

Sweet dreams xxx

11:03 p.m. - 19.04.12

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

Jan 21st - 22.01.20
Jan 20th - 20.01.20
Jan19th - 20.01.20
Jan 18th - 19.01.20
Jan 16th - 17.01.20

other diaries:

strawberrri
orangepeeler
jarofporter
kelsi
stellarrobot
marywa
dangerspouse
blujeans-uk
ladyofjazz
SWORDFERN
narcissa
newschick
life-my-way
joistmonkey
stepfordtart
simeons-twin
annanotbob
outer-jessie
ottodixless
manfromvenus
melodymetuka
jim515
hitch-hike
floodtide
boombasticat
aliannmil

Site Meter